Representation

goobydoobyscoobydooby.jpg

All that was once directly lived has become mere representation.

- Guy Debord -



Last week I had to attend an industry work function; had to as there was no choice, it's part of my role to represent my organisation at such things and despite not liking these events I attend, do my job and deal with the fact I'd rather be anywhere else but there.

The event was in the convention centre and there were around a thousand people there (making it easy to blend in) and I was there to listen to a few speakers and, more importantly, speak with various others who were there for the same reason. A lot of business is done in forums like this and I managed to get a lot of value from the day.

It was a lunch time thing that ran through to the afternoon and there was a more casual dinner event later in the evening which I also attended - the benefits of attending will not be apparent for months ahead although I feel confident my time was well invested.

We don't all represent a company or organisation but we all represent ourselves every day and how we do that has implications on us and others.

I have represented myself badly in the past and may again in the future, I'm human after all, however I work hard to represent as well as possible; it's not just so others perceive me well or relate to and like me, I do it for myself, for my own self-respect and so I can look in the mirror and say I was my best self possible, at least on that particular day. If I can string three hundred and sixty five of those days together I can look back and say I've had a good year; that's my take on it anyway.

I don't get down on myself about those times I represent poorly, I see them for what they are, evaluate and make plans to rectify and change what went wrong; in that way I move in better directions and more confidently. How I represent myself personally and professionally makes a difference to my outcomes as it does for others and I believe that those outcomes are worth trying a little harder for.


How do you perceive your own representation in professional and personal situations? Are you always your best self or are you human like the rest of us and represent badly, or not as well as you would like, at times? What elements do you build on and which do you work to change; what outcomes do you seek and how does it feel when you achieve them? Feel free to comment below if you'd like.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency