Thai Photo Contest: nature around my farmhouse, ธรรมชาติรอบบ้าน

This is my entry for #thaiphotocontest94 hosted by @thaiteam on nature photography. The strict lockdown here meant that no trains and coaches were allowed to operate for about three weeks. So, I am stuck in Bangkok and could only look at photos I took around the countryside last month. I should have been more proactive in getting all my affairs in order; I procrastinated too long and was hesitant in letting of all prospects of having a part-time or freelance work. On the one hand, I still wanted to maintain my connection with city lifestyle. This past three weeks so many things have slowly been put into positions for the inevitable end game scenario.

img_1020.jpg

img_1021.jpg

So, I realised that I had fooled myself into believing things would be different as we live in a Buddhist society. After going through a real shock in my mind, I know I haven’t got much time left to prepare for my contingency plans. Pictures of the countryside and the ample space with refreshing air keep floating at the back of my mind. Local people are still very down to earth and have traditional skills for survival. Nowadays they would have to rely more and more on machinery such as in planting and harvesting rice.

img_1023.jpg

The younger generations of villagers don’t like to work hard in the fields as their parents and grandparents’ generations. But I think they are still very lucky to have fertile land and plenty of water. Some villagers go fishing in the evening while some set traps for field mice in the bushes. During the rainy seasons, groups of people would go hunting for frogs! So, not only the French people knows how to cook frogs, most villagers around the countryside know how to survive by exploiting seasonal supplies of natural food in the surrounding such as various insects, worms, red ants’ eggs, frogs, field mice and wild mushroom.

img_1024.jpg

Though more people have started to build houses along the river bank, the majority of land owners still haven’t sold their precious land to investors from big cities. Rich local people have moved from town center to enjoy their retirement in country homes and to do gardening. So, these rich people have been planting more trees as they are more aware of the importance of nature and ecological harmony. I just wish that basic survival techniques, gardening and ecology had been taught at secondary schools.

img_1025.jpg

Nowadays, most children have no personal connection with the spirits of nature; it might be because people living in concrete jungles have no chance of enjoying quiet moments in the woods or contemplative walks by the sea or river. I could still remember how two members of my old friend’s family when arrived at my country house, these two chaps just sat silently looking out at the garden and river for one hour.

img_1079.jpg

img_1071.jpg

They just put their luggage on the floor and didn’t want to check out their sleeping quarter. My friend told me to relax as they seemed to be deep in a kind of trance. I still didn’t understand why they both went into a quiet immovable phase. I did wonder what went on in their mind or whether they could hear the earth’s vibration. From time to time, I would be struck by a special high pitch sound around the house. The first time I was struck by very powerful vibrating sounds was when I visited my friends’ house on the mountain many years ago. The pounding sound of the earth shook my whole body and I could hear the whole forest breathing and it’s heart beats. Only then did I realised why Buddhist monks liked to meditate in small huts or caves in the forest. If people could hear the vibes from the earth and trees, they would respect those big trees, the forest and Mother Earth.

img_1078.jpg

img_1080.jpg

ตอนนี้เราค่อนข้างจะยุ่งขึ้นเรื่อยๆ. เพราะนอกจากมีเรื่องต้องคิดแก้ปัญหาแล้ว เรายังต้องติดตามข้อมูลจากต่างประเทศเรื่องโควิท และแผนการที่กลุ่มคนชั้นนำในต่างประเทศ กำลังจะรีเซ็ตระบบเศรษฐกิจและการเงินทั่วโลกโดยใช้เรื่องโควิท และยาฉีดเพื่อควบคุมคนทั้งโลก. โดยมีคนชั้นปกครองในแต่ละประเทศให้ตวามร่วมมือ โดยหวังอำนาจ อิทธิพลและผลประโยชน์ส่วนตัว เราเริ่มยอมรับแล้วว่าบ้านเมืองเราคงต้องตกเป็นเมืองขึ้นยุคดิจิตอลแน่นอน คนส่วนใหญ่ไม่มีความรู้ความสามารถในการสืบหาข้อมูล และคิดทันคนพวกตระกูลนักล่าอาณานิคมทางปัญญาได้ เรื่องมันซับซ้อนมากเกินความอดทนของคนในการมาติดตาม และค้นการความจริง เราก็ต้องเริ่มปรับความคิดให้ ยอมรับความเป็นจริง และมั่นคงในการทำในสิ่งที่จำเป็นต่อความอยู่รอด

img_0973.jpg

การล็อกดาว์นนั้นสาหัสมากสำหรับคนหาเข้ากินคํ่า เราเองก็จิตใจห่อเหี่ยว เพราะไม่ได้เดินเล่นตามธรรมชาติและริมแม่น้ำเป็นประจำเหมือนแต่ก่อน รถไฟและรถโดยสารหยุดวิ่งกันหมด. เราก็ได้แต่เปิดดูภาพที่เราถ่ายไว้เมื่อเดือนก่อน ไหนจะอดทำสวน ไม่ได้เล่นกับแมว ชีวิตในต่างจังหวัดน่าสบายและไม่เคร่งเครียดเท่าในเมืองใหญ่ เราพลาดไปเองที่คิดว่าบ้านเมืองเราคงไม่ล่วงลงไป เหมือนกับหลายประเทศที่ล้มเหลวทางเศรษฐกิจและการเมือง. ตอนนี้มันส่อเค้าแล้วว่าคงกู่ไม่กลับแน่ๆ. ทั้งนักการเมือง นักวิชาการ ข้าราชการก็มีอาการสมองทึบ และง่อยเปลี้ยด้านภาษาอังกฤษ ทำให้ไม่มีข้อมูลมีที่ทันสมัย สำหรับการตัดสินใจในแต่ละวัน เราก็อดคิดถึงชีวิตเรียบง่ายที่ต่างจังหวัดไม่ได้ มันห่างไกลการแย่งชิงอำนาจทางการเมือง และคอรัปชั่นผลประโยชน์ของชาติ

img_0961.jpg

โชคดีที่ชาวบ้านในต่างจังหวัด ยังคงมีภูมิปัญญาท้องถิ่นในการใช้ชีวิตและเพื่อการอยู่รอด ที่นั่นยังมีแผ่นดินที่มีความสมบูรณ์และมีนํ้าอย่างพอเพียง. ชาวบ้านสามารถหาอาหารที่มาตามธรรมชาติ เช่นหน้าฝนก็จับปลาจับกบมาทำอาหารกิน แมลงและหนอนก็เอามาเป็นอาหารได้ บางคนก็ทำกับดักจับหนูนา และเก็บไข่มดแดงไปขายหรือทำอาหารกินกันในครอบครัว คนส่วนใหญ่ยังอยู่แบบถ้อยทีถ้อยอาศัยกับธรรมชาติ คนรวยๆในตัวเมืองเริ่มออกมาสร้างบ้านอยู่ตามริมแม่น้ำ พื้นทีแถวริมน้ำจึงเริ่มถูกพัฒนามากขึ้น แต่คนที่มาอยู่ใหม่ก็ชอบปลูกต้นไม้เพื่อเพิ่มความเขียวในพื้นที่ เราคิดว่าเด็กรุ่นใหม่ขาดความสัมพันธ์กับธรรมชาติ เพราะไม่มีโอกาสได้อยู่ใกล้ๆกับธรรมชาติ ถ้าทุกคนได้มีโอกาสใช้ชีวิตใกล้ชิดกับธรรมชาติ ตั้งแต่ยังเป็นเด็ก เขาก็จะเข้าใจถึงความสำคัญของธรรมชาติ และความสมดุลย์ในระบบนิเวศน์ของธรรมชาติ เราก็หวังว่าเราคงมีสติปัญญาในการเตรียมตัวเพื่อการอยู่รอดในอนาคต

img_0975.jpg

img_0977.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency