Orchids at my friends’ house, กล้วยไม้ในบ้านเพื่อน

This is my entry for purple photography in #thaiphotocontest85 hosted by @thaiteam. At first I had no idea what to use for my blog as I could not find anything purple in my house. Then I remembered those orchids in my friends’ house; I was invited to a religious ceremony there last week. So, my old friend’s orchids could come in handy today. Her house is quite a long way from me so it would take almost an hour to get there. Had the journey been much shorter, I would probably be visiting her house more often. This old friend is very keen on gardening and growing all kinds of wild orchids. Last week I was luck to see some of the orchid blossoms.

d6d41c21_451e_4706_9733_8f28b0c6bb8c.jpeg

There is not enough space for all of the orchids; some are left under the dark shade by the wall. These lucky ones could get some sunshine at least half the day. I had never seen these wild orchids before, so that was quite a treat for me. I had to thank my friend for having gifted me about ten orchid plants last year. They are now hanging among trees scattered around my garden. When they come into flowers, I would take some photos for reporting to her about the progress of these orchids.

6a909da9_5bab_4f31_aa72_d29c1b865c59.jpeg

05bda128_52f3_4305_960b_7e4da4648c1d.jpeg

My friend did influence me a lot about gardening and the appreciation of orchids including rare plants. While she was studying abroad, her neighbours happen to be very good gardeners so she picked up lots of knowledge from them. The first time I saw her apartment, I thought I was in a jungle! There were funny or strange pot plants and hanging baskets everywhere. I could nit believe she could grow so many plants successfully in that cold climate.

c5e6e745_5253_4a2b_9e5a_4944e803b91f.jpeg

bebf3b0d_9168_4d9c_a447_249dbd18380c.jpeg

It was fate that brought us together as we studied in different cities. My cousin introduced me to her friend who had later became one of my close friends while studying abroad. I learned so much from her as she was an accomplished cook and an enthusiastic gardener. I thought she liked plants more than people as she seemed to treat plants with so much sensitivity and respect. I could never imagine my friend harming any plants or flowering trees. She could feel how plants feel which was rather crazy to me. It was hard enough for me trying to feel how my cats feel or think. I would like to understand my cats but my friend, who doesn’t like cats, could understand plants and trees. This means I have to find a new meditation method which will enable me to talk to plants or trees. On the other hand, this might not be such a good idea. What would happen if I suddenly could hear the plants and trees in my garden complaining about me not giving them fertiliser and water! So, I’d better stop finding thus new meditation trick. My garden is full of plants and fruit trees bought by my friend from the biggest whole sale area of plants and trees outside Bangkok. My friend is in a habit of walking around that place once a month. So, I could request some special order such as twenty mahogany saplings which are now growing tall in my garden.

dae80e29_65e3_423b_851a_148081fa06ac.jpeg

4a6dec50_2c10_4223_942b_d5849db4a409.jpeg

เรากำลังคิดว่าจะหาอะไรสีม่วงมาใส่ในโพสต์ดี เราเดินคิดไม่ออกอยู่พักใหญ่ เราก็นึกขึ้นมาได้ว่า เราพึ่งไปงานทำบุญที่บ้านเพื่อนสัปดาห์ก่อน แล้วเราก็ถ่ายรูปกล้วยไม้ที่บ้านเพื่อนมาด้วย เพื่อนคนนี้เป็นคนที่ทำให้เราได้เรียนรู้เรื่องการทำสวน และเข้าใจเรื่องต้นไม้มากขึ้น เขาเป็นคนที่ชอบทำสวนมานานมาก เป็นคนที่สามารถปลูกต้นไม้แปลกไปให้โตขึ้นได้ เราเจอเพื่อนคนนี้สมัยที่เราเรียนหนังสืออยู่เมืองนอก เราเรียนอยู่คนละเมือง แต่เจอกันตอนเราไปเยี่ยมญาติที่ต่างจังหวัด เราก็เลยเป็นเพื่อนกันมาเรื่อยๆ จนกลับมาเมืองไทยก็มาเจอกันอีก ครั้งแรกที่เห็นบ้านที่เขาเช่าอยู่ที่นั่น เราแปลกใจมากที่มีต้นไม้ในกระถางทั่วบ้าน เหมือนอยู่ในป่าเลย เขาเก่งมากที่สามารถปลูกต้นไม้ในกระถางได้งามมากในเมืองที่มีอากาศหนาวเย็น เราก็ค่อยๆเรียนรู้จากเพื่อนในเรื่องต้นไม้ และการเอาใจใส่ดูแลต้นไม้ เราเห็นเพื่อนคุยกับต้นไม้แล้ว เราคิดว่าเพื่อนเราชอบต้นไม้มากกว่าคนแน่นอน และเราคิดว่าเพื่อนเราเข้าใจความรู้สึกของต้นไม้ด้วย เราไม่เคยเจอใครดูแลต้นไม้เหมือนเราดูแลสัตว์เลี้ยงเลย เรายังไม่สามารถสื่อสารกับต้นไม้ได้ขนาดนั้น

c141e4ff_26a6_492b_922b_1a8c944943da.jpeg

fdc7ec37_ca4d_4df6_a15f_7c9b623112db.jpeg

เพื่อนคนนี้ชอบไปเดินตามตลาดขายต้นไม้เป็นประจำ เพราะสมัยก่อนเขามีสวนผลไม้ จึงต้องลงต้นไม้จำนวนมาก ทำให้เขารู้จักแหล่งหาซื้อต้นไม้หลายแห่ง เราก็เลยได้อานิสงส์ด้วยการฝากให้ช่วยเลือกซื้อต้นไม้ขนาดเล็กให้เราด้วย ต้นไม้หลายสิบต้นในสวนของเราก็มาจากการเลือกซื้อให้โดยเพื่อนเก่านี่เอง เราก็ได้ความรู้มากขึ้นในเรื่องการดูแลต้นไม้ และเพื่อนยังให้กล้วยไม้มาสิบกว่าต้นในปีก่อน ตอนนี้กล้วยไม้เหล่านี้ก็แปะอยู่ตามต้นไม้ในสวน บางต้นก็แขวนอยู่ในกระถาง เราอ่ตจะต้องย้ายบางต้นให้โดนแดดบ้าง เพราะอยู่ในร่มจนไม่ยอมออกดอก เราคิดว่าชะตาชีวิตนำพาให้เราได้มาเจอเพื่อนที่คอยช่วยเหลือเรา และให้ความรู้เรื่องการทำสวนแก่เรามากมาย เราคิดว่าเราโชคดีมากทีเดียว ต้นมะฮอกกานีในสวนยี่สิบต้นก็ได้มาจากเพื่อนเก่านี่เอง.

4d8a5b98_377b_4dc5_a63e_46fcf37166de.jpeg

de0ad7e5_767f_4357_abeb_79d2d60ab6f8.jpeg

Wishing you all a very nice day.

Stay strong and cheerful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency