A grand birthday morning!

I live in the woods, on the banks of a river and am used to waking up in the morning to the sounds of nature. Birds singing in the trees outside of my bedroom window, flocks of geese landing on the water, squirrels chattering... Those are my usual wake up calls!

Until recently!

drone photos taken by my son last weekend

Now I wake to the barnyard sounds of roosters crowing! Not just one rooster, but two! Standing on my deck railing or out on the front sidewalk, they actually don't care what time of day they loudly practice their cock-a-doodle-dos!

They belong to a neighbor who lives down the road from me. But she as a couple of dogs and I think her flock finds my yard a much more peaceful place to spend the day.

These are the 3 hens. The black one and the white one are new this spring. She bought 4 and I'm sure she was surprised that two turned out to be roosters.

This one is the old girl from last season. She is the only one who survived free ranging in the woods during the past winter. There are lots of hungry predators out there who are happy to come across chicken dinner!

Even though they are destroying my flowers vthey are keeping me entertained!

Big thanks to everyone for the happy birthday wishes today! ♥️ It was such fun waking up to all the lovely greetings in the Ecency Discord. Special thanks to @iconnellys for his delightful birthday post! It has started out to be a grand day!

img_0.2164631801752323.jpg

All comments written on my posts, and any posts in Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters,
Ladies of Hive, and Feel Good Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.Thanks to @taskmanager for encouraging Engagement within communities

Posted using Ecency Love

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
90 Comments
Ecency