A girl with a knife vs. a mob of men. / SYZYGY short story (part 5)

people-2602616_1920.jpg

“MIST! WHAT IN ECLIPSE’S NAME IS WRONG WITH YOU!?” My mom yelled louder than she’s ever yelled.

I looked in my left hand. Had I really just snatched this dude’s knife!?

Now I swear, that dude's eyes turned red. All of their eyes did. “Take her out.” was all he said. They all began to walk towards me.

I took two slow backwards steps, and then I took off running. The sad thing was, they could run too, and really fast.

That’s when I tried two mix in with the crowd, stepping into the middle of the pathway and winding in between people. But that’s really hard to do with a knife in hand, and people started to notice I had it and scream and move out of my way. This had the opposite effect that I wanted, giving my position away rather than hiding me amongst the people, it just showed the men exactly where I was going. I took one look back to see the distance I had put between me and them, and found they were catching up, full on pushing and knocking people down to get to me.

I sped up, getting to a sidewalk, but then I had an idea. I ran into the road, and took one quick look to see if that mob of men would follow me into the road. Turns out they would. This knife must belong to King Cresent or something! Why do they want it so bad!? I thought. I turned back in front of me to immediately see a speeding car coming down the street honking its horn like a madman. Good. I stayed in its path for two steps longer knowing scarily well that the car could easily plow me down. But once I got close enough I dashed left back onto the sidewalk.

If those mob of men really wanted me, they would’ve followed me into the road and got hit by the car. But I heard no impact noise. I turned back looking to see what had happened, only to see all the men had escaped the road farther down on the sidewalk opposite of me, looking at the car. One of the men spotted me on the other side and tapped another on the shoulder.

“She lived!” the shoulder tapper yelled, pointing at me.

I couldn’t believe it. They wanted to kill me, but expected I’d take care of myself running into that car trying to take them down with me. They weren’t stupid. Neither was I.

“She lived!” the shoulder tapper yelled, pointing at me.

I couldn’t believe it. They wanted to kill me, but expected I’d take care of myself running into that car trying to take them down with me. They weren’t stupid. Neither was I.

I started to run again. This time fury from them thinking I’d crush myself carrying me forward. They chased me around the city, even when I took a detour into the vegetable fields. Okay, they were really trying to kill me. I was now scared, really scared, like finally-releasing-that-my-life-was-in-danger scared. My stomach was starting to cramp up, and I was beginning to think I’d cry. How could I get away from them? Why’d I take the knife? Why was the sky pink? Wait. Really, why was the sky pink!? As I looked at the sky, I noticed the sun was behind me and lower in the sky than it usually was. That doesn't make any sense. The sun never sets in Sun country!

Then I saw a city. A city? Impossible. My eyes are teasing me. A pink sky and now a city? Solar city is the only wen close for miles!-but no, there a city stood. Tall and sure of itself, just beyond the flower gardens. Even though this place came out of nowhere, a city was a city and I could lose these guys in an alley or something. I ran faster then, knowing I’d be safe soon, if only I could make it to that city.

I kept running, even though my stomach pain was killing me. Almost there. A tall black gate marked the entrance to the city, or rather, the end since there was no sign saying ‘welcome to so-and-so city’ and the sharp spears at the top rails didn’t look so climbing friendly.

I made it to the gates and PRAYED that it was open. It was. I heard a popping noise, but there was no time to pay attention to that as I ran inside the gate. I quickly closed it behind me and turned to lock the latch to keep those men from following me. It had three latches. Come on!

Breathing heavily, I locked all three latches just as the men came and banged against the gates, knocking me back.

The dude who first had the knife tried to open the gate. “SHE’S LOCKED IT!” he bellowed.

“I knew we should’ve made this a smart-lock with voice recognition!” One with a thin mustache complained.

I smiled, feeling smug. I got rid of five men all on my own, but that’s when I noticed something I didn’t before. First off, that ‘popping’ noise I’d heard just before was my ears popping. They felt all clogged and weird now. Second of all, it was cold. Cold enough for the breath out of my mouth to fog up. I looked farther down to notice there were huge posts in the street with lights on the top of them. What? Then I noticed why those street lights were on. The sky was pitch black.

“ACK!” I yelled in surprise. How do you go from a never-setting sun from complete darkness!? I was scared, and figured I had to be dreaming. But then I heard those guys talking behind me.

“Why is she yelling like that? Is she slow or something?” one asked.

“No, she’s a Sun-ian is all. Probably never seen a dark sky before.” Answered another.

Sun-ian? What were they talking about?

“Hurry up and climb that gate, Qamar, my shoulders are killing me!” one yelled, and when I saw what had to be Qamar’s head pop over the gate I took off running again.

I didn’t know where to run, and I didn’t have much energy, so I slowed down and took many, many turns. I didn’t know where I was going, and it was SO dark, but I had to lose those guys...I just had to.

That’s when I accidentally bumped into someone and fell.

It felt good to finally not be on my ever-burning legs and have a rest, but I heard someone say “Get off me,” so I had to open my eyes and see who I’d landed on.

I’m telling you he was the cutest guy I’ve ever seen! He had the cleanest haircut in the world, thin sideburns leading up to his flawless waves. His skin was the color of black coffee, and his eyes so dark they nearly matched the night sky in color. The only problem was that I was probably crushing his legs so I slowly and wearily got up and brushed myself off.

“Where were you going so fast and in a hurry?” He got up and stared at his phone, probably staring for cracks and irreversible scrapes, when those guys caught up with me. My heart raced for a second, but then it slowed again. I was tired of running from these fools.Would I ever escape them?

But this boy seemed to know them. “Woah, woah-woah.” he said as they came tumbling my way.

“Excuse us Sir, we’re after that girl behind you. She stole something confidential from the M.I.A. and we intend to get it back.” Qamar told him.

The boy turned back to me. He seemed to be staring at something on me. I looked down only to remember I was still holding the flip knife I stole from them.

It wasn’t like I was gonna give it back.

We stood quiet for a while before the boy said “I’ll, I’ll take it.” he reached out a hand towards me.

I kept my hands at my sides. “You’re not giving this back to them are you?”

“No, but why would you care? You did steal from them.” The boy answered.

“There’s a reason I took this from them.” I said, giving the knife to the boy.

He took it back without regarding what I'd just said. Instead, he turned to the men, confused. “Why did you pull this out on a little girl!?”

Okay, that boy was starting to look not so cute. I was tired of being called a little girl! I just turned 18! I’m far from being little. But this dude who looked my age had the nerve to call me that. Uh!

“We didn’t pull it out on her sir.” Qamar said as if the very thought of that was absurd. “We pulled it out on…” he stopped talking.

“My mother.” I finished for him grimly.

The boy’s eyes widened. “What!? Pulling this out on a woman!?”

“But sir, it wasn’t her-

“It doesn't matter if you didn’t pull this out on her! Her mother is no better! You aren’t to pull this out on civie’s!” The boy paused for dramatic effect.

Qamar continued, though a bit shook. I wondered how this boy, no older than me, was intimidating them. “But sir, we were given the order to-”

“Given the order? By who?” The boy asked.

“By… your mother, Prince Fog.”

The boy’s Prince Fog’s eyes widened.

Wait. This boy was Fog? The Prince of ALL of Moon country? And he was standing right next to me? Where in Eclipse’s name was I!? Wait, that meant his mom was…

Queen Nightshade.

Prince Fog continued, baffled, “But how… Why would she…?”

“It’s confidential, Sir, now please. Excuse us so that we may properly punish this girl for taking our property.” Qamar and the rest of the men tried to step around Fog, which made my heart race and me back up. Luckily, the boy stepped in between us.

“No, No, you won’t hurt this girl. You tried to assault her mother, so she had a right to take the knife.”

“Sir you don’t know what you’re doing-”

“No, I think I do. She’s uh, my er, girlfriend, so step aside.”

WHAT!? My jaw dropped, and the men’s jaws did too, but when I saw them surprised, I quickly closed my mouth shut.

Qamar turned his eyes to me. “This true, m’am?”

This seemed to be the only way to get out of possibly getting killed. “Yes, I’m his girlfriend, duh. Why do you think I ran to him?” I said as if I really was his girlfriend. Little did they know, I was an expert liar.

Qamar’s eyes widened. He focused his attention back on Prince Fog. “But, Sir, this can’t be true! She’s a Sun-ian! A Sun-loving Civie from the other country!”

“I’m well aware of that. Now, leave her alone!”

“Does your mom know about this!?” One of the men in the back asked.

“Please, that isn’t his girlfriend. Prince Fog’s never even seen a sun-ian. I bet he doesn't even know ‘er name!” one guy from the far back yelled.

I really hoped they didn’t test that fact.

“That’s enough.” Prince Fog asserted. “Now, get out of our way before I fire you all from the job!”

The men slowly dispersed. Qamar sat in front of us the longest, and when he finally walked away, I turned to see him still keeping an eye on us. Me.

I finally turned back to Prince Fog, who seemed to be studying me.

“Thanks for saving me. But you really need to work on your lying,” I told Prince Fog.

“I don’t plan to lie much in my life, so why would I do that?”

Something told me that even though we’re only from opp osing countries, our brains were working in different universes.

TO BE CONTINUED

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency