Good news week!

It seems like every day is good news week right now - and believe me, that's such an improvement on the previous few years.

This morning at 04:30 (yes, four-thirty in the morning, before the sun had even made an effort to get up and put on its hat) our household woke up, got up and got on the road.

We were taking our daughter @danielles, her husband @greg-shackleford and their friends to the airport for their journey home. They've been house/horse/dog/chicken-sitting for us while we visited the UK for a wedding.

When we got home, we went back to bed and I'm not convinced it was a good idea, to be honest. I've been sluggish all day since we re-got up (is that a thing?)

I've been neglecting the horses lately (not neglecting them per-se, but I've not been giving them the time they deserve). I decided to take Onyx into the stable and groom his winter coat off.

He's not used to the attention and would not stand still. He's not a bad-tempered horse and I'm never afraid he'll kick or bite. He does lift his head so I can't reach his ears (although he stopped doing that when I countered his efforts with brushing his neck) and he really does enjoy a good butt-scratch.

All-in-all, we got everything done. The mud and dust is mostly out of his coat, although I couldn't brush his feet as the grass and ground is sodden, those feet aren't going to be brushed until the mud has dried.

When we'd finished his grooming, I led him out of the stable, into the driveway and we took a few photos.

Here they are:

IMG_2601.JPG
Onyx - not behaving like a perfect show-pony

IMG_2616.JPG
The road outside our house is really narrow - it's a good thing the traffic is scant

IMG_2618.JPG
I let him loose in the field we're cutting for hay when the weather improves

IMG_2628.JPG

IMG_2630.JPG

IMG_2633.JPG

IMG_2635.JPG
Tora - Belgian Malinois

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/J3jL2qrGeU8

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/HolO60qFAX4

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency