A Day in Lock-down

I've always considered myself as a fortunate person. I enjoy my life and it does seem to be getting better with each year.

image.png

Now, that may be rose-tinted glasses, but for right now, it's absolutely true.

image.png

This year has been the year from hell for the majority of the world. We have a massive pandemic raging and the turmoil in politics is unprecedented - Brexit, USA elections and Putin's reported illness and speculated retirement to name but three. Our country is in the second full lock-down of the year and looking back at how these events have affected the country in general and my friends and family in particular, I can only watch and hope for the best.

My daughter is in a permanent state of shielding because she is severely and chronically immuno-compromised. My in-laws are in their 90s and also have to shield. My son's children are 8 and 1 and - you guessed it - also have to be careful.

image.png

Having said all that, we're fortunate that our friends and family realise the dire situation with health and don't go visiting each other, or allowing others to visit.

Here's why I consider myself lucky:

Last year (50 weeks ago to be exact) @Soul got a new job. Then came the most worrying news, lock-down and all the worry that came with it - will he still have a job at the end etc etc.

During lock-down, he was able to work from home and it would seem his job IS secure, thankfully.

Because he's spent most of this year at home, the situation has confirmed what we already suspected - we actually do like each other and get along really well!

That bodes well for his retirement because it looks very unlikely that either of us will snap and murder the other when we have to spend such a lot of time in each others' company.

I'm calling that a WIN!

My other wonderfully good fortune is my horses.

image.png

Because we have horses and ponies a few miles from home, and we have to check on their welfare at least twice a day, we're able to go out of the house, get some exercise and fresh air and not suffer cabin-fever.

Today, for example:

We woke without an alarm and checked emails etc in bed - total relaxation!

We checked out a couple of property details that were sent to us and decided we really love one of them to the extent that we'd like to view it as soon as possible.

Before breakfast, I made a fire in the living room (don't worry, there's a wood-burner there for that purpose), let the cats out of the pantry, fed the dog and went off up to the field to sort out the ponies.

I feed Maverick - a big old boy who needs extra care because of his age and an unknown illness which caused him to drop weight. I give the other eight animals their hay, check water etc.

image.png

Today, we also moved a haybox into the bottom field so there are three in there now. The two colts we got last year are separate from the rest as they're still 'entire' and we don't want any of the mares to get pregnant.

It's not all work, however, it's also a lot of pleasure and relaxation - I kid you not, as soon as I get into the field and start talking to the horses, any worries or concerns melt away and I cannot stop smiling.

Today is mild weather, though a little damp, but it doesn't matter if the wind is howling, the rain lashing and mud up to my knees, it's always enjoyable up there, close to the horses.

image.png

On Thursday, we've owned the colts a full year and it's amazing how much they've grown!

Once the hay and water is topped-up (and the water turned off so we don't get a flooded, muddy field), I can leave... but rarely do. I linger and wander, finding one excuse after another to check the ponies. Nimbus needed his rug adjusting today and Onyx just needed to be patted and spoken to...

On the way home I'm still smiling and when you're happy, things don't seem to bother you so much. Traffic can be stationary and it doesn't matter, it just seems less fraught.

So, back home, the cats greet me when I get in, I changed my muddy boots for my slippers, made @Soul a cup of tea and I decided to write about my day.

There's no wind outside, so the fire isn't 'drawing' and therefore, the coffee isn't percolating, but am I annoyed? Not a bit of it.

The start of my day has set me up for the rest and though I have to clean the living room and kitchen, have a shower and do a load of washing, none of it is a problem.

PLUS, I am looking forward to going back up to the field later, to feed Mav and Onyx before I can settle down for the evening.

I hope your day is going as well as mine.

One of my friends has a lovely habit of ending our conversations with this:

Peace in your day.

I wish the same for you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency