Hanging Sunflowers, Roofing, Batch 53 Started - Tuesday

It was about 20 degrees in the morning yesterday, the coldest day for a while as the storms are starting to move through. It takes a bit for me to get out and get going when it is that cold but I have to get used to it as this is just the beginning.

IMG_20211012_060239.jpg

First task for the day was to take the sunflowers and 2 sticks of 1/2 inch conduit up to the studio. I cut open a drum bag that was the perfect length to lay beneath the sunflowers. I poked the conduit through the center of each sunflower and slid it down. I waited a bit too long and some of the sunflowers were going bad with mold but I was able to cut out most of the bad spots.

IMG_20211012_121342.jpg
IMG_20211012_121351.jpg

The first row was mostly the larger ones and the second got mostly smaller ones. I am not sure what I might get in the end from the small ones as I don't know how well the seeds are developed. I have to two heaters pointing at them and I hope to be able to get them to dry to harvest the seeds.

IMG_20211012_123032.jpg
IMG_20211012_123039.jpg

I cleaned up my tools from the roofing project and before I hauled them to the tool shed I finished a couple remaining items on the roof. The electrical mast needed to have the flashing installed. The boot got slid down to the base and I took a scrap piece of roofing, notched out the area for the boot, then installed the piece.

IMG_20211012_143943.jpg

I have a line of screws across the top which has the top sheet fairly flush against the lower and it will sheet the rain over the boot.

IMG_20211012_144444.jpg

The vent for the hot water heater runs out the old chimney and I had to screw it down to keep water from getting past it.

IMG_20211012_145608.jpg

The other old chimney is a gaping hole right now and it would have been a funnel for rain and snow. I took a piece of the aluminum that I removed from the front porch roof and screwed it to the wall to cover the hole. I hope to get to the tear out of it before too long as it would keep the place a lot warmer with the wall rebuilt.

IMG_20211012_150237.jpg

After dinner I got started slicing up all the bell peppers for the next run in the freeze dryer. I had a big bag of them and managed to get through all but a handful of small ones. I chose slices this time since we have a couple gallon ziplocks full of pieces already. Plus the slices can easily be broken into pieces if we want. It was cool to see that some of the peppers had started to turn color while in the cooler.

IMG_20211012_185909.jpg
IMG_20211012_191755.jpg
IMG_20211012_194045.jpg
IMG_20211012_200601.jpg
IMG_20211012_201427.jpg

It was later when we got out for our evening soak with getting the freeze dryer going and @stryeyz working on sorting grapes for juicing.

I am going to be going to Sandpoint on the 23rd to take my Ham Radio technician exam to finally get my license. I have been taking practice tests with the HamRadioExam Technician app and the HAMtrainer app and I have been passing them all. The FCC is instituting a large fee change for next year and I need to get my license before that. I also am going to get my vanity call sign as soon as I get my license so I can forego the $35 fee for every action they are planning. If possible I may try to get my general before as well.

IMG_20211012_221659.jpg

Today it is just starting to rain with the snow level about 3k ft, well above the farm and I hope to get to see the new roof get its first test. Cleanup between the rain drops is my main task for the day. This evening we have scouts for the boys.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency