Batch 52 Started, Central Heat Troubleshooting, Cleanup - Sunday

I had cleaned our heater filter out on Saturday and when I had it out the heater cycled on for a while then shut off. I put the cleaned filter back in and tried to turn the heater on but it did nothing. I tried off and on the rest of the day to gt it to turn on but ended up letting it be for the night. Yesterday I set about troubleshooting it.

IMG_20211010_082353.jpg

I had to climb up into the attic to get to the heater and after popping the access panel open I hit the safety switch to watch it cycle through. It would start the electric pilot which would glow bright orange then it would not kick the gas on, it would just cycle back to the pilot and after the third time it faulted. Nicely the control board for the heater has an LED that blinks an error code and the wiring diagram shows the chart of the errors. It took a few trips up and down the ladder and some searching online to figure out what I was doing.

IMG_20211010_111545.jpg

In the heater there is an ignition/heater coil on the bottom burner and on the top burner is the flame sensor. Apparently the flame sensor had gotten a scale on it and I just had to take a brillo pad to it and scrub the probe a bit. As soon as I did that I hit the safety switch and the thing fired right up.

IMG_20211010_114020.jpg

The winds have been blowing and the trees have been dumping needles that died off during the hot dry summer. I took some time to sweep off the roof of all the debris and get it ready for the coming Winter. After having just done the roof on the studio I have a different view of the house roof and am looking a bit more critically at it. There are also a few spots that need some attention, namely right in front of me in the picture.

IMG_20211010_121413.jpg

@stryeyz got started cutting up the hot peppers for the freeze dryer and the first tray got filled with jalapenos. I changed the oil in the compressor and cleaned the door seal real good to try and avert any of the errors I had gotten recently.

IMG_20211010_160125.jpg

My red oak that got broken in last year's heavy early snow has come back really well. I was able to make a new top for it by choosing the best branch and tying it up. The leaves have been turning and are now looking amazing.

IMG_20211010_161003.jpg
IMG_20211010_161017.jpg

We got a soak in while dinner cooked in the Instapot.

IMG_20211010_165516.jpg

Tray 2 got the Hungarian wax peppers and some Ancho.

IMG_20211010_185502.jpg

After we ate dinner I gave her a hand and we both cut up all the ancho peppers which filled the other 3 trays.

IMG_20211010_191443.jpg
IMG_20211010_193926.jpg
IMG_20211010_195932.jpg

We saved the seeds from the ancho and ended up with quite a good pile of them. I will setup the small fan today to help dry them off.

IMG_20211010_195938.jpg

Once the freeze dryer was filled and running we ended the day back soaking.

IMG_20211010_203824.jpg

Today looks to be a lot of cleanup, work on finishing the roof, the co-op monthly board meeting is this evening, and get going on garden tear down.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency