Batch 25 Started - Sunday

After letting the machine sit for a day I figured I should get another load of trays in and running. It is really nice to have pre-frozen veggies that I just pour onto the trays, level out, and toss in the freeze dryer. No preparations needed and it opens up a bunch of space in the freezer. The last run of veggies I did all got bagged for long term storage and I did not keep any out for us to eat now, so this run will get a portion of each of the peas, corn, and green beans kept out.

I only did one tray of the green beans an still have another full 5 pound bag in the freezer.

IMG_20210124_120126.jpg

I was able to use up the corn which was about 6 or 7 pounds, a full bag plus a partial to fill 2 trays to brimming. I am curious about being able to crush the corn to more of a meal after freeze drying. Since corn doesn't digest as easily it might do better after the freeze drying and crushing? Just a thought.

IMG_20210124_120312.jpg

The peas are bulkier than the corn so I was not able to use up the last of the bag so only managed about 5 or 6 pounds between the 2 trays. I put a couple pounds of peas back in the freezer which we can use up as is.

IMG_20210124_120526.jpg

J's room had become a pig sty and it desperately needed cleaning which I had started on Saturday but didn't get finished until yesterday. The boys were both very happy to have the floor available once again and they quickly drug out a couple of board games to play. That made me happy since they had been playing their games in the middle of the living room floor which was ALWAYS right in the middle of the walking path.

I put in the order for the laminate flooring and underlayment for both J's room and our bedroom, the only two rooms in the house with carpeting. J's room is also the coldest room in the house since his floor sits over an elevated part of the foundation where the hill slopes to the creek and creates a space for the cold to sit. The underlayment foam will help to block a bit of the cold so hopefully his room will be a bit warmer in the winter time. I am picking up the laminate today and will start working on his room this week. It will be a bit of a pain having to move everything out but it will be a whole lot nicer to have the MUCH easier to clean laminate instead of the ancient 50s/60s looking carpet.

IMG_20210124_143748.jpg

Our friend stopped by with another trailer load of pine rounds. I now have as much in these big rounds as I got from the trees I took down a few weeks ago. I have to roll the rounds all over the the wood pile so they are out of the middle of the yard.

IMG_20210124_154012.jpg

Today R has school, I have to pick up our laminate, groceries, and I need more bird feed but the will wait until tomorrow I think.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency