Women rights, how do we take equality to the next step? Ladies of Hive contest #67

Throughout history, women have had to defend our rights, from wearing pants to voting.
In your opinion, what still needs to be achieved?

Women and the feminist movement had done and achieved so much so far.
There are a big gap still between women in the west to women in the middle-east, Africa and big parts of Asia. But as a
woman living in Europe and my everyday world, I will write about this topic from my perspective. I know that I am super lucky and living a privileged life. I believe that I need to be grateful, my prayer is that living in a more equal society will open and lead the way to more communities and women around
the world.

img_0.16701588809994516.jpg
(Pic from freeimages.com)

The first is respect. Both sexes should strive toward learning and understanding each other, learn to respect our differences. Women should respect men.
And men should respect women.
From respecting one another we can continue and build a strong and sturdy bond between sexes.

Second, women are different from men. So far women try to gain equality by being like men. wearing men cloth, go out to work in the condition that was created for men, speaking like men and to have a men like attitude to succeed.
I think that this is the main thing that needs to change and to be
achieved now.

Have equality with the understanding of our needs as women.

The big thing is pure biology. We have a different body, therefore different needs. a different role in family life. Also gender differences, coulter, and the way we grow up. I am not going to list here all the differences. My point is, we should be respected for the women we are, and not try and fit ourselves
to a men pattern.

Let us take for example women menstrual cycle, we should get 1-2 days off every month to be with our wombs, and bleed, celebrate and honour our womanhood. We don’t need to lie about it or take a sick-day for a natural process that we all have. A process that makes us able to birth more humans.
We should be respected for that because it is not easy.

img_0.11208485640007858.jpg
(Pic from freeimages.com)

My third and last point is to improve our sisterhood and stand together, support and empower one anther. Like this community. To be more open-hearted to other women and help if we can, or not judges.
For example, we can say 'no' to the body image that is presented to us by society. Not support companies that put very thin girls on their billboards. Be proud of the natural curve of a woman body
and show this to our girls.

I will close with a song and a prayer that I learn recently, (I am sorry I don’t know-how is the writer. It is not me.)

“ and may all mothers know that they are loved.
and may all sisters know that they are strong.
And may all daughters know that they are ( worthy\ beautiful\ powerful)
And the circle of the women my lives on.
and may all mothers know that they are loved.
and may all sisters know that they are strong.
And may all daughters know that they are ( worthy\ beautiful\ powerful)
And the fire of the goddesses may burn on. “

Much love to all of you sisters.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency