The fantasy of the audience / La fantaqsía del público

Reflections of a dancer.
Chapter 3
The bad reputation of bellydance.

mi_imagen7.jpg

Today I woke up remembering a conversation I had many years ago with my dear dance student, Karla.

And the thing is that, although sometimes I would like to disconnect a little from my work as a teacher in the arts, it is very difficult for me. Every moment of the day there is something that unites me to this passion.

Many, many years ago, Karla and some of her classmates wanted to dance at the party of one of their friends.
Screenshot_2021-08-25-11-50-47_2.png

After their dance, they received many congratulations and had the opportunity to take beautiful pictures of themselves in their Arabian dance costumes.

When they finished, I accompanied them to the dressing room to change their clothes so they could continue enjoying the party.

I went home and they stayed at the party.

Screenshot_2021-08-25-12-04-32_2.png

A few days later, Karla, a woman who proves that physical beauty is not incompatible with a strong character, asked me a question.

She wanted to know why I had insisted on changing clothes the day of the party. She told me that in reality, she would have wanted to keep her suit because she felt beautiful in it.

At that moment I explained to her what respect for the public's fantasy is.

The viewer, when he sees a girl in her Arabian dance costume, immediately connects with the cultural stereotype.

NUEVA (1).png

This, in most cases, will be with the idea of a delicate, romantic, sweet, etc, etc... woman.

And here, I ask you to do an imagination exercise....

How would you feel, seeing that delicate figure you created in your mind, dancing salsa, rock, reaguetón, with a drink in her hand and laughing out loud?

Attention, that none of that is wrong, it is just not coherent with what is in the imaginary.

And when we make the decision to be a public figure (understood as doing something for an audience, big or small) we must respect their illusion, their fantasy and be consistent with the speech.

Screenshot_2021-08-25-11-48-43_2.png

Karla listened to me silently and attentively, and with that calm and firm tone of voice that always resonates in my mind every time I remember her, she said, "I had not seen it from that perspective".

And with the certainty that characterizes her, she told me how she felt that day, with her costume and all that magical halo that leaves the Arabic dance and the new way of looking at it that I was proposing.

With my students I learn day by day. They allow me to test my teaching strategies and give me nourishing feedback that I treasure.

I also thank the #Hive community for this space for sharing and reflection. A space to think out loud and among friends.

mi_imagen3 (1).jpg

All photos belong to me // Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version) // Designs: Story Maker App



AHORA EN ESPAÑOL

Reflexiones de una bailarina.
Capitulo 3
La mala fama del bellydance.

mi_imagen7.jpg

Hoy me levanté recordando una conversación que tuve hace muchos años con mí querida alumna de baile, Karla.

Y es que, aunque a veces quisiera desconectarme un poco de mí labor de docente en artes, se me hace muy difícil. Cada momento del día hay algo que me une a esta pasión.

Hace muchos, muchos años atrás, Karla y algunas de sus compañeras, quisieron bailar en la fiesta de una de sus amigas.

Screenshot_2021-08-25-11-50-47_2.png

Después de su baile, recibieron muchas felicitaciones y tuvieron la oportunidad de tomarse hermosas fotos con sus trajes de danza árabe.

Al terminar, las acompañé al vestuario para que se cambiaran de ropa y pudieran así seguir disfrutando de la fiesta.

Yo me fui a casa y ellas se quedaron en aquel festejo.

Screenshot_2021-08-25-12-04-32_2.png

Días después, Karla, una mujer que demuestra que la belleza física no está reñida con la firmeza del carácter, me hizo un planteamiento.

Ella quería saber por qué les había insistido en cambiar de ropa el día de aquella fiesta. Me dijo que en realidad, ella habría querido quedarse con su traje pues se sentía hermosa con él.

En ese momento le expliqué lo que es el respeto a la fantasía del público.

El espectador, cuando ve una chica con su traje de danza árabe inmediatamente conecta con el estereotipo cultural.

NUEVA (1).png

Este, en la mayoría de los casos, será con la idea de una mujer delicada, romántica, dulce, etc, etc...

Y aquí, te pido que hagas un ejercicio de imaginación...

Cómo te sentirías, al ver a esa delicada figura que creaste en tu mente, bailando salsa, rock, reaguetón, con un trago en la mano y riendo a carcajadas.

Atención, que nada de eso está mal, solo que no es coherente con lo que está en el imaginario.

Y, cuando tomamos la decisión de ser figura pública (entendido como hacer algo para un público, sea este grande o pequeño) debemos respetar su ilusión, su fantasía y ser coherente con el discurso.

Screenshot_2021-08-25-11-48-43_2.png

Karla me escuchó en silencio y con atención, y con ese tono de voz calmo y firme que siempre resuena en mí mente cada vez que me acuerdo de ella me dijo, "no lo había visto desde esa perspectiva"

Y con la certeza que la caracteriza, me contó cómo se sentía ella ese día, con su traje y todo ese halo mágico que deja la danza árabe y la nueva forma de mirarlo que yo le estaba proponiendo.

Con mis alumnas aprendo día a día. Me permiten poner a prueba mis estrategias de enseñanza y me dan devoluciones nutritivas que atesoro.

También le agradezco a la comunidad #Hive por este espacio para el compartir y la reflexión. Un espacio para pensar en voz alta y entre amigos.

mi_imagen3 (1).jpg

Todas las fotos me pertenecen // Artes con Story Maker App

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency