This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Pole Dance, more than excercise, a method of self-confidence / Pole Dance, más que un ejercicio, un método de autoconfianza

Pole Dance, more than an exercise, a method of self-confidence.

portada pole.jpg

Today I was remembering my first pole classes, about 7/8 years ago.

The discipline was starting to become popular and I started to investigate.

At first I was torn between curiosity and what I considered to be my handicaps. A rotator cuff injury, a cracked wrist and fairly advanced osteoporosis.

I was frustrated by something I wanted to do that I thought my body could not tolerate. I confess that I wanted to do it very much and sadness was haunting me. I thought that my ailments would not allow me to do it.

Until one day, by those causality of life (and not coincidences) I found out that a friend and fellow dancer, who is also a physiotherapist, was teaching pole dance, and invited me to try a class, to which I quickly said yes.

pole.jpg

With a lot of fear, but full of excitement, I took the road and drove for about an hour until I reached her academy. I can still relive that mix of excitement and fear.

That first class was very funny. My mind understood perfectly what to do and my body showed me that I was not strong enough to do it.

But with her support, my nervous laughter turned into encouragement and motivation.

Little by little, she taught me how to safely deal with my ailments so that they would not prevent me from doing the activity.

Best of all, I didn't miss out on the joy of pole dancing.

pole3.promo.jpg

I was able to keep the frustration, but I decided to turn it into a challenge and motivation.

Over time, and thanks to perseverance, I was making progress and improving my physical condition, but pole dance gave me something much more valuable and for which it is very little recognized.

It gave me self-confidence.

And is that when you are performing a figure or a movement in the pole, however simple it is, it is you and only you who has the absolute responsibility for your safety.

The first thing that happens when you learn your first pole figures is falling. But why do you fall? The answer is simple, because you let go.

So, it is not the teacher's fault, it is not the weather's fault, it is not someone else's fault. The responsibility lies with oneself.

Therein lies the first great learning. To accept that we are one hundred percent responsible for our actions.

Going back to the pole class, I explain to you, when a figure, a grip or a hitch goes wrong, one is filled with fear because he knows that what follows is the fall. And as if the pole were a hot iron, we immediately let go. It's like a denial reflex, if I'm not touching it, it doesn't exist.

But it does exist, and if you let go, you fall.

Here comes the second big lesson.
Controlling your fear of the unknown will prevent your next fall.

pole 4.jpg

And in between bumps and bruises, believing I was learning pole dance, I learned to trust myself. To make quick decisions and to trust fully in what I was doing.

Sometimes with more aesthetic results in pole and sometimes with much less beauty, the confidence in my choices helped me reach my goals.

Today, I don't know if I am very good at pole, but what I am sure of is that I am a more confident and decisive person.

Maybe the guy who said that you can learn from being beaten was right. (Hahaha)

final.png

All photos belong to me.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Designs: Story Maker App

AHORA EN ESPAÑOL

Pole Dance, más que un ejercicio, un método de autoconfianza

portada pole.jpg

Hoy me estaba acordando de mis primeras clases de pole, hace unos 7/8 años.

Se empezaba a popularizar la disciplina y yo, me puse a investigar.

Al principio me debatía entre la curiosidad y lo que yo consideraba que eran mis impedimentos. Una lesión en un manguito rotador una fisura en una muñeca y una osteoporosis bastante avanzada.

Me sentía frustrada por algo que quería hacer y que pensaba que mi cuerpo no podría tolerar. Les confieso que tenía muchos deseos de hacerlo y la tristeza me rondaba. Pensaba que mis dolencias no me permitirían hacerlo.

Hasta que un día, por esas causalidades de la vida (y no casualidades) me enteré que una amiga y colega bailarina, que además es fisioterapeuta, estaba dictando pole dance, y me invitó a probar una clase, a lo que yo rápidamente dije que sí.

pole.jpg

Con mucho miedo, pero llena de emoción, tomé la ruta y conduje por aproximadamente una hora hasta llegar a su academia. Aún puedo revivir aquella mezcla de emoción y miedo.

Esa primera clase fue muy graciosa. Mi mente entendía perfectamente lo que había que hacer y mi cuerpo me demostraba que no tenía la suficiente fuerza como para lograrlo.

Pero con su apoyo, mi risa nerviosa se fue transformando en ánimo y motivación.

Poco a poco, ella me fue enseñando como lidiar de una forma segura con mis dolencias, de manera que no me impidieran realizar la actividad.

Lo mejor de todo, es que no me perdí de toda esa alegría que me daba practicar el pole dance.

pole3.promo.jpg

He podido quedarme con la frustración, pero decí convertirlo en un reto y motivación.

Con el tiempo, y gracias a la constancia, fui consiguiendo avances y mejorando mi condición física, pero el pole dance me dio algo mucho más valioso y por lo cual es muy poco reconocido.

Me dio auto confianza.

Y es que cuando estás realizando una figura o un movimiento en el pole, por más sencillo que este sea, eres tú y solo tu quién tiene la responsabilidad absoluta de tu seguridad.

Lo primero que sucede cuando se aprenden las primeras figuras en el pole es caerse. Pero, por qué uno se cae? La respuesta es sencilla, porque te sueltas.

Entonces, la culpa no es del profesor, la culpa no es del clima, la culpa no es de otro. La responsabilidad es de uno mismo.

Allí está el primer gran aprendizaje. Aceptar que somos ciento por ciento responsables de nuestros actos.

Volviendo a la clase de pole, les explico, cuando sale mal una figura, un agarre o un enganche, uno se llena de miedo porque sabe que lo que sigue a continuación, es la caída. Y como si el pole fuera una plancha caliente, inmediatamente lo soltarnos. Es como un reflejo de negación, si no lo estoy tocando, no existe.

Pero si existe, y si lo sueltas, te caes.

Aquí viene la segunda gran lección.
Controlar el miedo a lo desconocido evitará tu próxima caída.

pole 4.jpg

Y entre aporreos y moretones, creyendo que estaba aprendiendo pole dance, aprendí a confiar en mí misma. A tomar decisiones rápidas y confiar plenamente en lo que hacía.

A veces con resultados más estéticos en el pole y a veces con mucha menos belleza, la confianza en mis elecciones me ayudaron a alcanzar las metas.

Hoy en día, no sé si soy muy buena en el pole, pero de lo que si estoy segura es que soy una persona más segura y decidida.

Tal vez tenía razón aquel que dijo que a los golpes también se aprende. (Jajaja)

final.png

Todas las fotos me pertenecen.

Artes con Story Maker App