Pack Opening for LoH contest #122

Why do you think society places such a high value on beauty when it serves no functional purpose?

asked the Ladies of Hive this week, for contest #122. Instead of answering that, I'm going to disagree.

Beauty isn't without purpose

On a larger scale, it unites groups of people. Agreeing on a beauty norm lets people say "This is beatiful, this is good, this is us. That looks different, so that is ugly and bad and not us." I'm not saying that it is a good purpose, but it does exist. Look around and you'll see it everywhere. From racism to different fashions, defining what is beautiful is both a way to include some people and to exclude others.

On a more personal note, I got a package from my bestest friend today. Even before I opened it I was transformed from morose to happy, because I felt loved. I was, and felt, beautiful, and I got a lot more smiles from people I met on the way back from the postal center than I did on the way there. I can't claim that my temporary beauty was my friend's purpose, but it was certainly functional!

Pack opening time!

First of all, there was nothing fragile in the box. Maybe there was once, in its early life. This box was repurposed, and I love it! It took some damage in the mail (Hey, mailpeople, don't you know what FRAGILE and THIS SIDE UP means? It means someone will get really sad when you break the contents!) but with some tape I'll be able to use this box for storing things, or maybe even send it back with gifts for my friend, if I can ever afford the postage.

On top was a whole bunch of lavender sachets! Lavender from my friend's garden, in bags she's sewn herself. I know it went out of fashion even before my parents were born, but I love the scent. So some of them will go into the linen cupboard, some will go among my clothes, and one will go in my backpack. It's such a clean smell, and it makes me feel beautiful, plus every time I put on a new lavender-scented t-shirt, I'll think of my friend.

A book by women for women, and also for anyone else who cares about women, telling everybody that scifi isn't a male property, and never was. Knowing that other women, many of whom wrote under pseudonyms or used only initials in order to hide their gender, are remembered, known, and appreciated... makes me so happy! I remember when authors like Nancy Kress and Elizabeth Bear had their first books published, and only a very few of my mostly male scifi- and fantasyreading friends could praise their work without that annoying tag: "for a woman." Look at where they are now! Look at where WE are now! Seanan McGuire holds the world record for most simultaneous Hugo nominations! I haven't really kept up, but what do the Sad1 or Rabid Puppies2 call themselves now? Forlorn?

Hot sauces! Yum! As far as I know there's only one person who thinks I'm beautiful when eating something so spicy that I cry, my nose is running, and I'm grinning so wide I almost cannot chew. I love the same face on him. And here's a set of hot sauces from my loved friend. I think she understands. The beauty is in the happiness.

Carefully wrapped in silk paper, at the bottom of the box: A short sari! According to fashion rules, I shouldn't wear purple, pink, wine, red, black, or grey. But those are the colours I love! Those colours are beautiful to me, and make me feel beautiful too. And a tie dye cover up!

I'm keeping the sari to myself, but what's a cover up? A quite thin piece of clothing, it seems. I'll need to wear a cover-under first, if I'm to go outdoors. I love it! It's a huge t-shirt in beautiful colours! I'll feel like the queen of the world wearing this. My world! Full of colours and beauty and happiness sent in a box from halfway across the planet.

What am I getting at here, talking about what makes me feel beautiful, instead of beauty as an abstract thing? Simply that I don't think beauty is abstract. We all know what we ourselves consider beautiful, be it people, architecture, clothes, or how a piece of chicken and two potatoes are served on a plate. When we see something we consider beautiful, we feel good. When we feel beautiful, we feel good. Feeling good is functional.

As for the second question, "What job would you be absolutely terrible at?" I think it's quite apparent that I'd quickly get fired from any job that requires me to strictly follow the rules.


1 Sad Puppies - a group of authors and their fans who tried to influence voters for the Hugo Award to vote against authors and artists who weren't straight, white and male. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sad_Puppies
2 Rabid Puppies - same thing but worse , and they didn't even get their own wikipedia page https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sad_Puppies#2015_campaign

Pencil drawings and pictures (c) Treefrognada
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency