You don't judge a book by it's cover: What people misunderstand about me

⬇️

Greetings community! Since childhood, I have always been questioned about the frown I always wear on my face. I got used to random strangers asking me questions like "Aunty, why are you frowning?".

Snapchat-903915082_1698328712762.jpg

It is so funny when I am walking on the street and a random stranger says "Aunty smile, na, why are you frowning?". Sometimes, I just reply by flashing a tired smile at the stranger. Just to show that I can smile too.

One thing they don't know is that I only do that whenever I am stressed out. I have received a lot of pep talks from people on how to always wear a smile on my face. One of my previous tutors even told me a story of two ladies; one loved smiling and the other loved frowning. The one who loved smiling kept looking younger, and the other one who loved frowning kept looking older than her age, which attracted a lot of questioning from people.

IMG_20230909_091338_193.jpg
(Well, I smile too)
She ended the story by giving me a strict warning to keep the frown away from my face unless I wanted to look like the other lady who loved frowning. I have tried to adhere to her instructions, but I can't help it!

IMG_7137.JPG

People often believe that the fact that I always wear a frown on my face means I am unfriendly or not easy to talk to.

This is one common misconception about me. People get shocked when they strike up conversations with me, and I respond accordingly, vibing along with them. A few of them have raised their observations about how friendly I am.

Some get even more shocked when I go out of my way to strike up conversations or even crack jokes with people. Whenever they make comments on my friendliness, I just tell them "You don't judge a book by its cover".

Thanks for coming to my blog!

⬇️

ALL IMAGES ARE MINE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency