BULAN DICURI BAPAK ; a monologue show on the campaign for elimination of violence against women

facebook_1633440892651_6851147669813380150.jpg



Why am I writing about the elimination of violence against women in October?

Actually, there's no particular reason as to what month I'm writing about this issue. I just wanted to remind myself that November is coming soon, and women and feminist activists will be preparing for the 16 days ofactivism against gender violence that fall from November 25 to December 10.

In the years before the Pandemic, there were usually stage events that my friends and I did to commemorate the campaign with several women's communities.

Bulan Dicuri Bapak is a monologue that I performed on the Sastra Reboan stage. A monthly event for the literary and artist community in Jakarta and its surroundings.

Bulan Dicuri Bapak takes the point of view of a girl named Siti who is a victim of verbal abuse by her mother, as well as a victim of sexual violence from her stepfather.

Written by a woman and human rights activist Dewi Nova Wahyuni, Bulan Dicuri Bapak departs from a true story when Dewi Nova was on humanitarian duty in a city (she did not mention the city and the victim's real name). Being a caregiver for victims of sexual violence, Dewi Nova is clearly hurt by the fact that Siti cannot ask for protection from those closest to her after becoming a rape victim.

Really sad isn't it?

Family which is supposed to be the best support system when we are in trouble, is actually a scary person. Unreliable character.

So, to play Siti's figure, I only wore simple clothes and lip makeup, smiling, angry, and crying.

Meanwhile, from Siti's mother's point of view. She verbally abuses Siti, because Siti has a smile like her real father. Siti's mother boyfriend left her when she was pregnant.

Siti's mother is forced to marry a rough man who becomes Siti's stepfather. Married young out of necessity. Unprepared marriage.

In this monologue, Dewi Nova also wants to emphasize the abolition of early marriage. In the last ten years, Indonesia has experienced an 800% increase in cases of violence against women. Early marriage is a big contributor in this case.


Men need courage, more than just lifting the shaft of his penis. The courage to release his mind from prison to be a man. Dare to respect women with their thoughts and body desires.

Dewi Nova, Perempuan Kopi


FB_IMG_1633441966794.jpg
She is Dewi Nova



Dewi Nova's quote in her book entitled Perempuan Kopi seems to emphasize to us, especially men, the importance of learning to respect women and the importance of learning about equality. Men are human. Women are humans too.

During the 16 day of elimination gender violence campaign, as women, I feel proud and grateful to be born as a woman who dares to speak up. Meeting friends in this field, gave me the courage if any unfair treatment happened to me, I must have the courage to raise my voice and speak the truth.


MONOLOGUE AS A STRESS RELIEF


For me, performing arts always manage to relieve the fatigue and stress that I feel. Watching or being a performer is a kind of healing tool for me. The process of reading scripts, memorizing scripts, setting the stage, thinking about concepts, and discussing with friends who support music and performance equipment can relieve stress or depression.

Why Monologue?

In theatrical performances for some reason I prefer to choose monologues and not dramas with many members. Maybe it's because I feel easily intimidated by other people, so monologue is the best choice for me. Also, learning to show changed the shy me to be more courageous in public speaking.

Still talking about the anti-violence day campaign against women, another time I will tell you about my visit to a women's prison in East Jakarta.

I always hope that the pandemic will end soon. And I really wish all the women in the world to be happy.

Thanks for reading.

Source all pictures

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency