World Breast Cancer Day - My Testimonial // Día mundial contra el cáncer de mama - Mi testimonio

I heard over the loudspeaker in the waiting room: "Patient @Tibaire, please come to the office No. 8."

2.jpg

I slowly got up from my chair, my legs were shaking and I walked hesitantly to the office, where the doctor, upon seeing me, asked me to sit down.

From his desk drawer he took out an envelope with the biopsy result, opened it and after reading it he said to me, "I'm sorry, you have been diagnosed with breast cancer."

Those short words changed my life. While the doctor continued to pronounce words that I did not understand, immersed in my thoughts, the most terrible premonitions of the future came to me. What would become of me, was I going to die, would I have enough money to pay for such an expensive treatment, why me? Why me? I am so young, I am only 36 years old!

The doctor read my thoughts and told me; "Don't worry, the survival rate is high, there are means, medicines and places where we can treat you."

That day, 13 years ago, I learned three things:

The first, that for me the meaning of the word patient, is to wait in calm and tranquility. That meaning would serve me well in the following 11 months.

Second, that life slaps you in the face when we don't listen. There are turning points in life, and that day was the most important for me, because my life changed radically.

Third, that you can never lose hope, even when the outlook is bleak.

IMG_20200521_214951.jpg

Of course I got depressed.
Obviously, I am not made of iron, so once I left the office I became a sea of tears. My great friend was with me that day and I think for the first time he felt helpless that he couldn't help me soothe the pain in my soul.

He tried to distract me by taking me inside a bookstore, but all I wanted was to disappear into the deepest corner of my room and stay there forever.

Something nice happened while I was in the bookstore, the manager, seeing me crying, asked my friend what was wrong with me and he explained. This man without knowing me asked me to come closer, he took a book and gave it to me, the title: "The power is within you" by Louis Hay. Synchronization, that book became my bedside book, for ... ever!

I cried for months, I got depressed erratically, it was something that accompanied me perennially. There were good days, not so good days and terrible days, but still there was only one thought in my head: I get out of this!

It was a year of tears, sorrows, joys, doctors and medicines!

índice.jpg

Image received via whatsapp, I don't know its author, it says: "For all those women who go on day by day, despite uncertainty, fears and scars".

The treatment
The whole process, from the beginning of the diagnostic tests until I was told that I was cancer free, lasted 11 months.

I went through 4 chemotherapies that destroyed my hair. Every 21 days I had to be in the treatment room, there, like me, several people of all ages, both men and women faced the 4 hours it took for the treatment to pass with the best disposition we could. The next 7 days were terrible, nausea, dizziness, loss of appetite, weakness. The only and best thing I could do was sleep, so the time passed faster.

Then came the operation. I had a radical mastectomy with removal of 23 nodes. It was a team effort. Two surgical oncologists and the plastic surgeon were involved in the operation. When I woke up I saw with horror that I looked like Jack's girlfriend, from the movie "Jack's Strange World". It is not easy for a woman to know that she has lost part of what defines her as a woman. Over time I learned to see myself as a work of Salvador Dali, unreal, but beautiful.

There followed 12 slightly milder chemotherapies, which I was placed on every 7 days. Finally, I underwent 28 radiotherapies.

It was a time when I was extremely sensitive to tastes, smells and glitter. I remember that my brother had to leave the house to put on cologne and deodorant, because I could not stand the smell.

I think it is important to say here that the medical team that took care of me, not only did their job efficiently, but they were totally human people who helped me even when I was depressed. As for the medicines, by that time there was the High Cost Pharmacy and I got all the treatment for free, at the right time.

1492_1068992760826_3562_n.jpg

The great support. Family and friends
When a person has been diagnosed, the work is not only of the sick person and the doctors. The family and friends have great relevance in the patient's recovery.

For me, my mom was a great support, who after knowing the diagnosis moved with me, to take care of me. My brother @charsdesign, was my driver most of the time. He drove me to and from the chemo ward.

My great escape was my job, so after the 7 days, as if nothing had happened, I would get dressed and go to work. Of course I had no energy to walk, so my mom or my brother would drive me to the office and my boss would drive me home every evening.

The words of encouragement, strength, here I am, were not lacking from all my family and friends. It was really encouraging to see and feel so many people giving me moral support. I felt wrapped in the purest love. Paradoxical, but that's how it was!

In the end I did! I feel like a miracle, blessed and grateful, because I had one more chance to live, I know that many women don't make it. Survivors they call us, I have always found that word funny, but it is a way of defining those of us who have overcome the disease.

3.jpg

Me 13 years later, as a work by Salvador Dalí. Photo taken by Anthony Zambrano

The current reality
On October 19, the world day against breast cancer is celebrated. In the world there have been great advances in medicine and the survival rate is high in women who are diagnosed in time.

Unfortunately, this is not the case in my country Venezuela. The economic situation, the migration of specialized medical personnel, the poor hospital situation, added to the fact that the high cost pharmacy has stopped supplying medicines, makes it more difficult every day for people to be diagnosed in time, so the mortality rate is increasing.

There are organizations such as senosayuda, who promote awareness about early detection of breast cancer. They do education campaigns and give talks, donate mammography exams, breast echoes and give psychological support. They also have a store where they sell or donate, as appropriate, special bras and wigs.

This post was written to participate in the [Pink October] initiative ( @annafenix/initiative-october-pink-initiative-october-pink-esp-eng) written by @annafenix.

If you made it this far thank you so much for reading me and remember to touch yourself! It's something I already do by inertia.

The photos are my own // I took the cover image from Canva.com image bank and edited it with Canva.com // As translator I used the free version of Deepl.com

1.jpg


AHORA EN ESPAÑOL

Se escuchó por el parlante de la sala de espera: "Paciente @Tibaire por favor pase al consultorio N° 8."

1.jpg

Me levanté lentamente de mi silla, mis piernas me temblaban y caminé indecisa hasta el consultorio, donde el doctor, al verme, me pidió que me sentara.

De la gaveta de su escritorio sacó un sobre con el resultado de la biopsia, lo abrió y luego de leerlo me dijo: “Lo siento, has sido diagnosticada con cáncer de mama”

Esas cortas palabras cambiaron mi vida. Mientras el doctor seguía pronunciando palabras que no entendía, sumida en mis pensamientos, llegaron a mí las más terribles premoniciones futuras. Qué sería de mí?, Iba a morir?, tendría el dinero suficiente para sufragar un tratamiento tan costoso? Por qué a mí? Soy tan joven, apenas tengo 36 años!

El doctor leyó mis pensamientos y me dijo; "no te preocupes la tasa de sobrevivencia es alta, hay medios, medicamentos y espacios donde te podemos atender."

Ese día, hace ya 13 años, aprendí tres cosas:

La primera, que para mí el significado de la palabra paciente, se trata de esperar en calma y tranquilidad. Ese significado me iba a servir de mucho en los siguientes 11 meses.

La segunda, que la vida te da bofetadas cuando no la escuchamos. Hay puntos de inflexión en la vida, y ese día fue el más importante para mí, pues mi vida cambió radicalmente.

La tercera, que nunca se puede perder la esperanza, aun cuando el panorama sea desalentador.

IMG_20200521_214951.jpg

Por supuesto que me deprimí.
Obvio, no soy de hierro, así que una vez salí del consultorio me volví un mar de lágrimas. Mi gran amigo me acompañó ese día y creo que por primera vez se sintió impotente de no poder ayudarme a calmar el dolor de mi alma.

Trató de distraerme al llevarme dentro de una librería, pero yo lo único que quería era desaparecer en el rincón más profundo de mi habitación y quedarme allí eternamente.

Algo lindo sucedió mientras estaba en la librería, el encargado, al verme llorar, preguntó a mi amigo que me sucedía y él le explicó. Este hombre sin conocerme me pidió que me acercara, tomó un libro y me lo regaló, el título: “El poder está dentro de ti” de Louis Hay. Sincronización, ese libro se convirtió en mi libro de cabecera, por … siempre!

Lloré por meses, me deprimí erráticamente, era algo que me acompañaba perennemente. Habían días buenos, días no tan buenos y días terribles, pero aun así solo había un pensamiento en mi cabeza: Yo salgo de esto!

Fue un año de lágrimas, tristezas, alegrías, médicos y medicinas!

índice.jpg

Imagen recibida vía whatsapp, desconozco el autor

El tratamiento
Todo el proceso, desde que iniciaron los exámenes para el diagnóstico hasta que me dijeron estás libre de cáncer, duró 11 meses.

Pasé por 4 quimioterapias que tumbaron mi cabello. Cada 21 días debía estar en la sala de tratamiento, allí, al igual que yo, varias personas de todas las edades, tanto hombres como mujeres afrontábamos con la mejor disposición que podíamos las 4 horas que tardaba el tratamiento en pasar. Los siguientes 7 días eran terribles, nauseas, mareos, inapetencia, debilidad. Lo único y mejor que podía hacer era dormir, así el tiempo pasaba más rápido.

Luego vino la operación. Me hicieron una mastectomía radical con extracción de 23 ganglios. Todo un trabajo de equipo. En la operación estuvieron dos oncólogos cirujanos y el cirujano plástico. Al despertar vi con horror que parecía la novia de Jack, de la película “El extraño mundo de Jack”. No es fácil para una mujer saber que ha perdido parte de lo que la define como mujer. Con el tiempo aprendí a verme como una obra de Salvador Dalí, subrreal, pero hermosa.

Prosiguieron 12 quimioterapias un poco más suaves, que me colocaban cada 7 días. Finalmente, me sometí a 28 radioterapias.

Fue una época donde tenía sensibilidad extrema hacia los sabores, olores y brillos. Recuerdo que mi hermano tenía que salir de la casa para poder colocarse la colonia y el desodorante, pues yo no soportaba el olor.

Creo importante decir aquí que el equipo médico que me atendió, no solo hicieron con eficiencia su trabajo, sino que fueron personas totalmente humanas que me ayudaron incluso cuando estaba deprimida. En cuanto a los medicamentos, para ese momento existía la Farmacia de Alto Costo y todo el tratamiento lo obtuve de forma gratuita, en el momento oportuno.

1492_1068992760826_3562_n.jpg

El gran apoyo. La familia y amigos
Cuando una persona ha sido diagnosticada, el trabajo no solo es de la persona enferma y de los médicos. La familia y amigos tienen gran relevancia en la recuperación del paciente.

Para mí fue de gran apoyo mi mamá, quien luego de saber el diagnostico se mudó conmigo, para atenderme. Mi hermano @charsdesign, fue mi chofer la mayoría de la veces. Me llevó y trajo de la sala de quimioterapia.

Mi gran escape fue mi trabajo, así que luego de los 7 días, como si nada hubiese pasado, me vestía e iba a trabajar. Por supuesto que no tenía energía para caminar, así que mi mamá o mi hermano me llevaban hasta la oficina y mi jefe me regresaba todas las tardes a casa.

Las palabras de aliento, fuerza, aquí estoy, no faltaron de parte de toda mi familia y de mis amigos. Fue realmente alentador ver y sentir a tanta gente dándome apoyo moral. Me sentí envuelta en el amor más puro. Paradójico, pero así fue!

Al final si pude! Me siento un milagro, bendecida y agradecida, pues tuve una oportunidad más para vivir, sé que muchas mujeres no lo logran. Sobrevivientes nos llaman, siempre me ha dado gracia esa palabra, pero es una forma de definir a quienes superamos la enfermedad.

3.jpg

Yo 13 años más tarde, como una obra de Salvador Dalí. Foto tomada por Anthony Zambrano

La realidad actual
El 19 de Octubre, se celebra el día mundial contra el cáncer de mama. En el mundo se han dado grandes avances en la medicina y la tasa de supervivencia es alta en las mujeres que son diagnosticadas a tiempo.

Lamentablemente no pasa lo mismo en mi país Venezuela. La situación económica, la migración de personal médico especializado, la mala situación hospitalaria, sumado al hecho que la farmacia de alto costo ha dejado de suministrar los medicamentos, hace cada día más difícil que las personas sean diagnosticadas a tiempo, por lo que la tasa de mortalidad se está incrementando.

Existen organizaciones como senosayuda, quienes promueven la concientización sobre la detección temprana del cáncer de mama. Hacen campañas de educación y dan charlas, donan exámenes de mamografías, ecos mamarios y dan apoyo psicológico. También tienen una tienda donde venden o donan, según sea el caso, brasieres especiales y pelucas.

Este post fue escrito para participar en la iniciativa Octubre Rosa escrito por @annafenix.

Si llegaste hasta aquí muchas gracias por leerme y recuerda tocarte! Es algo que yo ya hago por inercia.

Las fotos son propias // La imagen de la portada la tome del banco de imágenes de Canva.com y editada con Canva.com // Como traductor use la versión gratuita de Deepl.com

1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency