Sincerity or excess of truth // Sinceridad o exceso de verdad

Qualities and defects. We are all full of them. On the one hand we can be affable, but we may have no tolerance for a person who thinks differently from us. That's how we humans are, dual beings trying to fit in not only with society but with ourselves.

IMG_20191108_125109.jpg

This does not mean that we are bad people, it simply means that we have our positive side and our negative side. Let's face it, we are not perfect!

This week @silversaver888, has proposed a very interesting challenge in the #LadiesofHive community, to read it and participate click the link, I'm sure it will get you thinking and you will want to join this nice community.

The question I'm going to develop is: What don't you understand about yourself? We all have qualities that have no explanation.

First of all I looked up in the dictionary the definition of quality, it says verbatim "Trait, permanent, differentiated, peculiar and distinctive component of the nature or essence of a person or thing that contributes, along with others, to make someone or something what it is and how it is."

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQCEH9x3zKUnCnxysCJEzVo75ATVkCsD7vi9q3beBkMrkQXgVWiJRW8fKYTjBDvZk5YbMQf48E7CUbTqLW7U3tuY8FikAKUtDtwtGGn87yYgSD.png
Imagen taken from Ladies of Hive community

Then I thought what sets me apart from others and what has been a constant in my life? after analyzing for a while I thought of the word sincerity. I tend to be sincere, I say what I think, unfortunately sometimes without a filter.

But what is the definition of sincerity, according to the dictionary it is a person "Who speaks and acts according to what he really thinks, without lying or pretending."

Interesting without pretending or lying. I tell you a secret, I don't like to lie, it is very difficult to support a lie for a long time. To sustain a lie you need to make up some more lies and remember them all! That's too much work for me.

But of course, we can't go through this life, being 100% honest, that would earn us a lot of free trouble and boy have I earned it, I have learned that throughout my life.

IMG-20131125-WA0001.jpg

So sincerity is a quality that many times I did not understand about myself. When I was young, my excess of sincerity got me into more than one problem. Sometimes it is easier to turn the page, not to say what you think, because you can hurt the other person or you can get hurt yourself.

When I was a child, I always told the truth. That's how I earned a reputation as a tattletale among my brothers and cousins, who would get into mischief and I would tell my grandmother about it. Because of my excess of sincerity, my brothers and cousins had a hard time, but they would ask me and I would simply tell the truth. I didn't understand the concept of withholding information.

When I was in college I almost had to repeat a course because I was too truthful. My HR professor was explaining the subject and made a mistake, I immediately corrected him and told him he was wrong in his perspective. Well, from that day on he went on a witch hunt with me. In the end I had to make amends.

Once my immediate supervisor called me into her office and told me that she was going to propose me as coordinator of the area where I worked. The condition: I had to tell her everything my coworkers did.

SDC15927.JPG

Ahh, by that time I had clearly understood the concept of gossip. My response was: you promote me because I meet the requirements and I will do my job as established by the company's guidelines, but I will not bring gossip about my coworkers to your office. Guess what, exactly, they never gave me the position, I ended up resigning.

At this point, with only a few years left before I reach middle age, I see little point in showing something I'm not. I say what I think and what I feel, it's a bit complex, people don't fully understand me. So, I'm either loved or I'm hated. I almost never stay neutral.

But not everything has been bad with my excess of sincerity, this same year something interesting happened to me. I had a job meeting and during the interview, like every manager, he attacked me with questions testing my knowledge, although, what he was really looking for was to prove his theory: that all people lie to get a job.

Seeing me against the wall with so many questions that came out like projectiles from his mouth, I only managed to tell him: sir, I am human and as a human being I am fallible, what you can be sure of is that I am a woman of service, my intention is that you receive a report as clear and detailed as possible; but I want feedback to improve in my weak areas.

IMG_20191123_155021644_TOP.jpg

After that question, the man fell down and at the end of the meeting he told me: I like you, you are sincere.

So while sincerity has won me over certain people who have little affection for me, I have also achieved quite the opposite.

I would like to invite @neumansalva and @soyunasantacruz to participate in this great contest.

If you made it this far, thank you very much for taking the time to read me, I hope you enjoyed it.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version). Sorry for mistakes in traslation.

1.jpg

20201002_101558_0002_1q.png


AHORA EN ESPAÑOL

Cualidades y defectos. Todos estamos llenos de ellos. Por un lado podemos ser afables, pero quizá no tengamos tolerancia ante una persona que opine diferente a nosotros. Así somos los seres humanos, seres duales tratando de encajar no solo en la sociedad sino en nosotros mismos.

IMG_20191108_125109.jpg

Esto no quiere decir que seamos malas personas, simplemente que tenemos nuestro lado positivo y nuestro lado negativo. Aceptémoslo, no somos perfectos!

Esta semana @silversaver888, ha propuesto un reto muy interesante en la comunidad de #LadiesofHive, para leerlo y participar pincha el enlace, estoy segura que te pondrá a pensar y querrás unirte a esta agradable comunidad.

La pregunta que voy a desarrollar es: ¿Qué es lo que no entiendes de ti mismo? Todos tenemos cualidades que no tienen explicación.

Primero que nada busque en el diccionario la definición de cualidad, dice textualmente “Rasgo, componente permanente, diferenciado, peculiar y distintivo de la naturaleza o la esencia de una persona o cosa que contribuye, junto con otros, a que alguien o algo sea lo que es y como es.

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQCEH9x3zKUnCnxysCJEzVo75ATVkCsD7vi9q3beBkMrkQXgVWiJRW8fKYTjBDvZk5YbMQf48E7CUbTqLW7U3tuY8FikAKUtDtwtGGn87yYgSD.png
Imagen taken from Ladies of Hive community

Entonces pensé ¿qué me diferencia de los demás y que ha sido una constante en mi vida? luego de analizar un rato pensé en la palabra sinceridad. Tiendo a ser sincera, digo lo que pienso, lamentablemente a veces sin filtro.

Pero cuál es la definición de sinceridad, según el diccionario es una persona “Que habla y obra según lo que piensa realmente, sin mentir ni fingir.

Interesante sin fingir ni mentir. Les cuento un secreto, no me gusta mentir, es muy difícil soportar una mentira por mucho tiempo. Para sostener una mentira se necesita inventar otras mentiras más y recordarlas todas! Eso es demasiado trabajo para mí.

Pero claro, no podemos pasar por esta vida, siendo 100 % sinceros, eso nos ganaría muchos problemas gratis y vaya que me los he ganado, eso lo he aprendido a lo largo de mi vida.

IMG-20131125-WA0001.jpg

Entonces la sinceridad es una cualidad que muchas veces no entendí de mí. Cuando joven mi exceso de sinceridad me metió en más de un problema. A veces es más fácil pasar la página, no decir lo que se piensa, pues se puede lastimar a la otra persona o uno mismo puede resultar lastimado.

Cuando era niña, siempre decía la verdad. Así me gané la fama de chismosa entre mis hermanos y primos, quienes hacían travesuras y yo se las contaba a mi abuela. Por mi exceso de sinceridad mis hermanos y primos pasaron por malos momentos, pero a mí me preguntaban y yo simplemente decía la verdad. No entendía el concepto de ocultar la información.

Cuando estaba en la universidad casi repito una materia por exceso de sinceridad. Mi profesor de Recursos Humanos estaba explicando la materia y cometió un error, inmediatamente lo corregí y le dije que estaba errado en su perspectiva. Bueno, desde ese día él hizo cacería de brujas conmigo. Al final tuve que reparar materia.

Una vez mi supervisora inmediata me llamó a su oficina y me dijo que me iba a proponer como coordinadora del área en la que yo trabajaba. La condición: tenía que contarle todo lo que hicieran mis compañeras de trabajo.

Ahh, en ese momento ya había entendido claramente el concepto de chisme. Mi respuesta fue: usted me promociona de cargo porque yo cumplo con los requisitos y yo hare mi trabajo tal y como lo establecen los lineamientos de la empresa, pero no voy a traerle chismes de mis compañeras a su oficina. Adivinen que, exacto, jamás me dieron el cargo, terminé renunciando.

SDC15927.JPG

En este momento, cuando me faltan pocos años para llegar a mi mediana edad, le veo poco sentido a estar mostrando algo que no soy. Digo lo que pienso y lo que siento, es un poco complejo, las personas no me llegan a entender por completo. Así que, o soy amada o soy odiada. Casi nunca me quedo neutral.

Pero no todo ha sido malo con mi exceso de sinceridad, este mismo año me ocurrió algo interesante. Tuve una reunión de trabajo y durante la entrevista, como todo gerente, me atacó a preguntas probando mis conocimientos, aunque, lo que realmente buscaba era probar su teoría: que todas las personas mienten para lograr un puesto de trabajo.

Al verme contra la pared con tantas preguntas que salían disparadas como proyectiles de su boca, solo atine a decirle: señor soy humana y como ser humano soy falible, lo que si puede estar seguro es que soy una mujer de servicio, mi intención es que usted reciba un informe lo más claro y detallado; pero quiero un feedback para mejorar en mis zonas débiles.

Luego de esa pregunta, el hombre se cayó y al finalizar la reunión me dijo: me agradas, eres sincera.

IMG_20191123_155021644_TOP.jpg

Entonces aunque la sinceridad me ha hecho ganar ciertas personas poco afectas a mí, también he logrado todo lo contrario.

Me gustaría invitar a @neumansalva y a @soyunasantacruz para que participen en este genial concurso.

Si llegaste hasta aquí muchas gracias por tomarte el tiempo de leerme, espero te haya gustado!!

1.jpg

20201002_101558_0002_1q.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency