Solo traveling as a single woman #loh89 contest

Hi wonderful ladies

Hope you're all having great today? It's a new month already I know everyone is excited.
I want to appreciate @meyateingi for the invite but I'll be going with the first question which grabs my attention.

The number of women traveling solo has been on the rise, how do you feel about traveling as a single woman? What are the advantages and challenges?

When talking about traveling as a person I haven't traveled much though but what I do find pleasurable is traveling alone than with friends or family I know it might get boring at some point but it's the best way of seeing the world and capturing every moment making every moment count because I know how big the world is and how small my problems could be. Unlike traveling with friends where you have to debate on where to visit.

The fun part about it is you decide on what to do.

people-2591874__480.webp
Source

Here are a few advantages of solo traveling

You learn to trust and protect yourself:
Growing up we were told as children not to talk to strangers and mind our business.

I haven't traveled far from my comfort zone before till when I got posted to the north for nysc camping, at first I was scared because I was going alone, and my family wasn't coming along with me. At that point I had to learn how to trust myself so that I can do it alone and protect myself from harm, I also decided to put down the guards and believe in the goodness of people when I asked for favors.

You find what you're made of:
Mostly when we're in our comfort zone we don't know what we're made of until we find ourselves in certain situations.

Traveling alone is empowering, you don't have anyone to rely on but yourself when the shits hit the fan.

After my camping we were asked to vacate the camp premises, I decided to head back to Kaduna so I can stay there for a while before going home for Christmas, I boarded a bus from kebbi state to Abuja because the road from kebbi state to Kaduna was bad, not bad road though it was actually "bandits" I got to Abuja by 3 am and I was looking for a hotel to lodge but all the hotels were filled up, I was kind of frustrated, scared cause it was my first in Abuja and the thoughts of bad things happening were frightening, the worst part was my phone's battery was running low. While wandering about I saw a motorcycle driver who drove me that morning looking for a hotel to lodge till I found one that wasn't filled up, oh great I finally found one, I was swimming in sweat, exhausted and grateful, I put down my bags and my head hit the pillow.

You'll meet new people:
Solo traveling no doubt increases your odds of meeting new people from all over the nation, It is said the kindness of strangers is magnified when you're alone by yourself and you're so happy someone helping you. Meeting new people is the best part of traveling, you get to learn new things from interacting with people, and you don't feel boxed. Friendships are made while traveling, it doesn't matter if you see them once in your life, one thing you'll never forget is that you made a friend somewhere.

woman-3640935__480.jpg
Source

Some challenges while traveling alone

As a lady traveling alone can be very risky, most especially if you're new to the place.
Solo traveling can be uncomfortable are times, exhausting and scary like I was in the early hours of the morning at Abuja. I think one other challenge would be language diversity when you find yourself in a place where the people don't understand English you'll be choked. When I was heading back to Abuja we stopped at niger state to get something then I was pressed I needed to make use of the restroom, so I approached someone I saw and asked the guy where I can pee and the guy didn't understand what I was saying and was replying me in his language. So language diversity can be a challenge.

I want to appreciate @trangbaby for these interesting questions this week and also permit me to invite @treasuree to be a part of this contest.

thank you for reading
Cheers

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency