Million-dollar question - Ladies of Hive contest #55

How would you spend one million dollars?

What would you do?

  • Buy all the potential cryptos in your portfolio and make more money?

  • Travel the world?

A million-dollar QUESTION (1).png

What a tough question! I am not a millionaire, so I have to do a little calculation.

Now, the latest model of iPhone is $1700, so you could own 588 devices with this.

A Macbook costs around $2000, so you could buy 588 devices.

Let's have a look at our lifestyle.

United States Annual Household Expenditure per Capita reached 24,533.600 USD in Dec 2020. source

While Vietnam Annual Household Expenditure per Capita was 1,495.320 USD in Dec 2020. source

According to these figures, if you are American, you can live on for approximately 40 years (assume that the inflation rate is unchanged). In case you live in Vietnam, congratulations! You hit the jackpot because you can live on that in around 668 years. WOW! I know, right?

Now, can you grasp the idea of how much money I am going to spend here? It's not that much after all, isn't it?

However, it is still a difficult decision to make as I never own that much money. The interesting thing is it gives me a chance to really reflect on life, my values, and the fundamentals of life.

If I were a millionaire, I would contribute to the common effort of tackling the greatest challenges the world is facing in the 21st century, what's that? You say... No, it's climate change.


1. Climate change

I know, it's all over the internet, people keep talking about it, some cover their ears as they get sick of it, but it's there, like it or not.

As I am writing this post, the world leaders are working together at COP 26 in Glasgow to come up with an updated plan for limiting global warming to well below 2, and aim for 1.5 degrees Celsius.

Never heard about it, check it out HERE.

No nation will be immune from the impacts of climate change. However, the distribution of impacts is likely to be inherently unequal and tilted against many of the world's poorest regions, which have the least economic, institutional, scientific, and technical ability to react. (World Bank report 2012)

Why do I care?

My home country, Vietnam is one of the regions which is vulnerable to the effects of climate change and global warming.

Typhoons and floods are becoming more intense and frequent in recent years.

With 70 percent of Vietnam’s population living along its 3200-kilometer coastline and heavily populated low-lying areas, rising sea levels and extreme weather conditions have wreaked havoc on the livelihoods of people in these areas.

The Mekong delta — one of the Vietnam rice bowls is putting at risk.

The delta has produced nearly half of the country's rice since 1997 according to ABD (Asian Development Bank). However, salinity intrusion due to sea rising levels has threatened agriculture in the fertile Mekong Delta. To make the matter worse, several hundred thousand people in rural areas have lacked access to clean water as a result of saltwater intrusion.

VNA-29052020.jpg

People recieved water from a water supply site in Ben Tre, Vietnam. source

Preservation of cultural heritage is greatly affected.

1-6932-1602594766.jpg
source
As much as I love traveling, climate change has taken its toll on a lot of destinations including UNESCO World Heritage town — Hoi An — a town is known for its bright-yellow-painted buildings.

251873926_706772024003260_851654724268595075_n.jpg

A family marks the level of annual floods that have submerged this town.

In 2017, the flooding hit a record high of the last 10 years.

image.png

Fortunately, communities have started a lot of initiatives to mitigate the effects of climate change.

Nhà chống lũ — A project that builds the amphibious house which rests on the ground but can float when a flood occurs.

image.png
source
We are not losing hope, but we need all resources and help available to save our and especially the next generation.


2. Research for infectious diseases.

If you asked me this question before the pandemic, my answer would be much different.

Though Covid-19 was not the first deadly disease we have dealt with in the 21st century, I am more aware of it as I am much older now and I am able to understand its impact on a global scale. All is thanks to globalization, that's why you are reading my post 😂.

That being said, I would like to save some of this budget for research for infectious diseases (Covid-19 is an example).

I believe that your life has been turned upside down due to the pandemic, if you lost someone you love or know someone who lost their loved ones during the pandemic, you are not alone.

If we can do something about it, why not take action now.


Let's be real for a moment, shall we?

How about spending some money for myself?

What if money could buy time?

My answer is YES, people claim that they don't have time for family because they're busy working to sustain themselves and support their family.

At least it buys me some quality time with family — it is in the short term, of course.

I would love to spend a fraction of this to travel with my family while money is off the table.

My parents are old, even though they will be happy when I make good money, they are thrilled when I am around. They may have everything but time, so money can buy me time with family and that is the most important thing.

2.png

How about you? How are you going to spend a million dollars?

All ideas are welcome in the comment.

Thank @melinda010100 for a provocative question. I enjoy it so much.

I would love to invite other ladies to join me as well @trangbaby and @dora381.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency