Market Friday: Guo Pei's Couture Fantasy, Part 2

As promised, I bring you part 2 of the exhibit I attended in San Francisco, California. You can read the article HERE. I might do a part 3, since I am unable to include all the photos I took.


Guo Pei’s work represents the strength and confidence of a woman who can bear the weight of the crown of her work... literally and figuratively... from the weight of the clothing, to the height of the shoes!


It showcases her work through unparalleled craftsmanship. Shapes were as extravagant as they get. There were short skater skirts made of layers of organza that sprouted feathers and bloomed with 3D embroidered flowers.


One can’t even come near to describing the sense of wonder one experiences when inspecting her creations up close. Guo Pei inhabits a creative universe all her own, where unbridled imagination meets arcane symbology in clothing that is both sumptuously opulent and theatrical. Source: Vogue


“Some people see China in her work, some see the sun, some see status, some see wealth, some see time and so on. In fact, they are all different. This is the charm of art. Art inspires mankind, so I think these works have gone beyond clothing. It is no longer a piece of clothing, but a carrier of culture, history, human emotions and love.”

Source: DolceMag


“As Guo Pei explains, her source of inspiration is rooted in five thousand years of Chinese culture and history,” D'Alessandro said. “This manifests in several ways from her reinterpretations of traditional Chinese dress, use of auspicious Chinese symbols, and commitment to working with highly skilled artisans, such as embroiderers from the Hebei provenance or basketry weavers from Anhui provenance.”

Source: Forbes


If you're wondering how Gou Pei's couture is, watch this:

I can wear her clothes!



#MarketFriday is by Denise @dswigle. I absolutely love #MarketFriday!


Are you from California? Why not join us! This post is for Show Us Your California Week by @dereckrichardson.


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.



Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

@silversaver888

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
70 Comments
Ecency