April 1st and it is Market Friday!

Dutch flowers... when I think of Dutch flowers, the first thing that enters my mind are TULIPS.


The attractive appearance and vibrant color of tulips make them among the most fulfilling and rewarding flowers for a gardener to grow.


They say it is easy grow them. Just pick a sunny site that has good drainage, and you're ready to go! But, I haven't ventured planting tulips. I know there is more to it than that!


Dig the area and loosen the soil about a foot (30 cm.) deep. You should add some compost or dried manure to the soil. Also, add some 5-10-5 or 5-10-10 granular fertilizer to help the bulbs grow. Mix the existing soil, amendments, and fertilizer, just like a cake batter until well blended. After you have properly prepared the site for the tulips, you can easily dig the individual planting holes. You need to dig each hole three times as deep as the tulip bulb is tall. There should be twice as much soil over the tip of the bulb as height of the bulb, so if your tulip bulb measures 2 ½ inches (5 cm.) tall, dig your hole 8 inches (20 cm.) deep, so you’ll have 5 inches (13 cm.) of soil above the bulb. You should plant the bulb in groups of ten if you’re putting them in your perennial border, and space them a couple of inches (5 cm.) apart.

Source: Gardening Know How


You see what I mean... complexity! So, every year when the tulips are out, I head to two nurseries and I view them. Especially now that we have #MarketFriday to show them. Pink, white, yellow, orange, purple... they are a sight to behold!


This one is taken from THE MANY COLORS OF TULIPS AND THEIR MEANINGS.

Red tulips are the hue of choice to express that you are deeply in love. The color red evokes passion and romance. Yellow flowers were once associated with jealousy and hopeless love. But, modern interpretations have gotten a lot sunnier. Yellow tulips now stand for hope and cheerful thoughts. White tulips are the flowers to pick for an apology bouquet. If you need to say you are sorry, white flowers and maybe a gift of chocolate are a worthwhile gesture.


Pink flowers express happiness and confidence. This makes them a very good choice when congratulating a friend on a new job or promotion. If you want to let her know that she is your queen, choose an arrangement of purple tulips. Purple has long been the color of royalty. Purple can also be used to express admiration for a loved one’s accomplishments.


Did I take few so that I can appreciate them at home?
No, I didn't. I don't dare, hehehe 😀.



I am happy and content to just

admire them... in the nursery!



I used Pinmapple to pin this post to the world map using a code generated at Pinmapple to mark the place where I traveled and took these photos.

It is so cool! You should try it!

[//]:# (!pinmapple 38.546129 lat -121.738869 long d3scr)

😍#ilikeitalot!😍

This is a post for #MarketFriday hosted by @dswigle.

@dswigle also initiated the #AlwaysAFlower tag!

I love #marketfriday.


This is also for the Show Us Your California of @derekrichardson.


Until my next post, stay sweet!

Love ya!


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.



Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

@silversaver888


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
64 Comments
Ecency