Ladies of Hive Community Contest #79, Following customs

Thanks to @nainaztengra for inviting me to write for this contest held by the @ladiesofhive

1️⃣ Statistically, women tend to be more spiritual than men. From whatever faith — Protestant, Catholic, Muslim, Buddhist, Wiccan, or other — how did it become your faith? What delights, insights, and joys have you discovered?

Or

2️⃣ Do you believe in angels and demons, or even experienced them? What would be your ideal guardian angel, or demon? Be creative.

Although I swear I have noticed perhaps some stuff that others may not and had intuitions about some things going to happen and that scared not only me but my close family as well. I am not sure if I can or am allowed to share it and so I will keep myself to answering the first question.

If you are interested in writing for this contest, please check out the post -
Ladies of Hive Community Contest #79

I invite @surrealfia to participate

— how did it become your faith? What delights, insights, and joys have you discovered?

I am a Hindu by birth. Hinduism is a way of life. When you study deeply, you can understand that it cannot be limited to the term - religion.
It has various sects and of course, languages. The whole of the Indian subcontinent is so vast when it comes to culture and languages. So, put simply, a Hindu from Kerala, like me is very different from a Hindu from Kashmir as regards customs and religious rituals. Even language.

People might think that Hindus worship many gods but if you study closely, you will understand that most of the gods are connected to the beings of the planet by way of nature and the elements. Living in harmony with nature is what defines Hinduism. Every ritual in connection with festivals is related to these principles.

For example, the custom of feeding the other animals. Even the tiny ant is fed by means of the 'Kolam' that is drawn with rice powder in front of the house every morning.


source

As for the delights and joys I discovered, it has always been a passion of mine to follow the customs of my religion by observing my mother and mother-in-law. Age-old customs like the ones connected with the religious festivals are a true test. I am in awe of the women of the past who managed to prepare so many dishes without the aid of modern machines and ready to use powders and stuff like that. Trust me, I would lose my patience in a minute.

Life is easier nowadays for the Hindus with the markets ready to supply anything required for such festivals. People might think that Hindus and other religious sects are quite divided but if one travels into the villages, you can find a Muslim selling 'malas' or garlands meant for the Ayyappa devotees in our state. Politicians and vote banks are what create rifts between the people based on religion but that is a topic for another time.

Celebrating festivals is a source of joy. Especially Onam and Vishu which are harvest festivals. The farmer is thankful for the rich produce that he gets that he offers flowers, fruits, and vegetables to the gods and also prepares feasts and shares them with his family and friends.


source

Hinduism is more of a discovery of the self and it is not just about the cliche images of sadhus smoking or some yogi who makes money from looting the foreigners.

Thank you once again to Nainaz and the ladies of hive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency