MY FAMILY'S TRADITION: Ladies of Hive Community Contest #59

photo_1601118964938_228a89955311.jpeg
Image Source

This is my entry to the #Ladiesofhive community contest and here is the link to the contest if you want to participate.

Let me invite @maryjacy to join too.

For this contest, I will be choosing just one option and here is it;

The holidays are all about tradition. What is your most cherished family holiday tradition? Tell us about it, how it came to be, and why it's special to you.

The only family holiday I know of is coming together at the end of the year to celebrate the festive season, both Christmas and New Year. It's a tradition for us to come together and celebrate and we have been keeping it till today.

I have known about this tradition since I was little as my parent would take us to my Dad's hometown to meet with other family members who come around from their different locations. Before then, my parent would have contacted their siblings and other relatives to confirm if they would be coming.

When we finally arrived my grandma's house, we would pray as a family and thank God for another year spent from January to December.

My grandma has this custom every year to cook much food on Christmas and New Year Day and share with her fellow women. The women will come to the house to eat and merry. This has been what my grandma do till now.

Every children would be happy seeing each other after many months. They gist and talk about school, work, cost of living, what is happening everywhere, etc

We love eating together on the round table as we enjoy the moment together.

After then, everyone brings out gifts to those they intend giving and we gladly receive it.

I see this tradition as a special one because it's that time of family bonding together. Coming to settle whatever disagreement between us and planning for the new year again.

Thanks for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency