Two Squealing Men: Weekly Contest #39

Hi ladies! Hope everyone is having a great week! It's another weekly contest and we had the choice again between two topics:

1️⃣ What funny or cute pet story do you have?

Or

2️⃣ Now that we have been sharing for while, let’s try something different. Imagine for ONE DAY you can magically swap places with another member of Ladies of Hive. Who would that be and why?

Now it's very funny because I chose to go for number 1, but this story comes with a disclaimer (which might make me the least like person on the blockcain) here it goes: I am not really an animal person. There it's out.... I don't mind animals and I'm not mean or anything to them, but I also don't feel the need to have one in my house or in my garden. In fact, there were only two animals I every truly loved:

Bob and Jaap! My guinea pigs when I was a teenager. I don't know why I loved Bob and Jaap and not other animals but well here we go. I got these two guys and we became inseparable ever since. They slept in my room, I built a nice garden playground for them etc.
image.png
Man it was along search for these pictures on an old hard drive haha. The grey one was Jaap and the orange one Bob.

Bob and the Hairdrama

image.png

Now as you might be able to tell from this glorious picture Bob was a longhaired guinea pig. And that doesn't just mean they have long hair... it means you have to cut their hair. And regularly too, Bob's hair always grew like crazy so every 2/3 weeks he needed a trim. The ideal would be to wash his hair every now and then, but a prominent scar on my arm made me realize that was a one time thing.

So every 2-3 weeks I would try to get Bob to sit still so I could trim his hair with scissors. And Bob, usually a pretty chilled guinea pig, decided he did not have the patience for that. He had to be seduced with juicy carrots to sit somewhat still and usually lost his patience about half way through, leaving him with a weird asymmetrical hairstyle. One point he gave a big tug while I was trimming his tuft at the top of his nose and nearly took it all off, leaving him with a weird hair do for weeks.

Bob also became what I can only believe was the oldest guinea pig that ever lived, living a whopping seven years. He and Jaap were best buddies and I strangely loved the sound of these squealing meeping guinea pigs next to my bed. What's funny is we also had a lot of animals when I grew up (we've had dogs, cats, guinea pigs, hamsters and even goldfish) that just lived downstairs and usually cared for by my parents and sisters who do love animals haha, but Bob and Jaap were always mine and in my room.

Anyway that was my story. I hope you enjoyed it. I had a great time looking up the old photos and thinking about Bob and Jaap! Thank you @kerrislravenhill for organizing and I would like to invite @zo3d to have a look at this community!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency