For all the tough girls out there

When I saw the contest for week 33 I got really excited because I can really relate to the age old question: were you a girly girl or a tomboy?

When I was really young

I'll start with a bit of background: I am an only child growing up in the Netherlands, but I had a big family with lots of cousins. When I was born I didn't have any hair, it actually didn't want to grow at all until my 1st birthday. This meant my mother was asked all the time: oh what a cute boy what's his name? In order to make sure people knew I was a girl, she would give me cute hats and put me in pink clothes. This picture still makes me laugh and I even still have the hat!
image.png

Luckily at some point my hair started to grow, but with it also my personality. From the age of 2 I started to cry whenever my mom brought me pink clothes to wear. I felt a lot more comfortable with caps and trousers. I also preferred playing with boys, as I thought girls were fussy and didn't like running around as much as I did. I think this is where you can really start calling me a tomboy haha. I played with lego and cars, kept my hair short so it wasn't in my face and I wore comfortable clothes, never dresses or pink. I never played with dolls and most of my friends are still guys and always have been.

image.png

Getting older

When I got older I started to notice that people cared more about being girly, people always wanted to do my hair (oh so annoying!) or bought me earrings (I don't have pierced ears) or jewelry (I never wear any) for my birthday. I never really changed who I was though and in the end I don't think anyone really cared. Nowadays I would say that I still have this practicality I always had. I definitely feel very feminine, I also love my active lifestyle doing lots of things outdoors like caving and climbing and both tend to be full of men haha. So I guess I got used to being the tough chick with a lot of guy friends, I wouldn't have it any other way!
image.png

Anyway, a little bit about me! Hopefully showing girls that you can be tough and not pink loving and still be very feminine! I really loved this contest and I hope @leonelysmb would like to join. I've been following some great posts of yours! I hope all you ladies have a great weekend and thanks @thekittygirl for this contest!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency