#87 Weird But Palatable!

Hello, gorgeous Ladies of Hive!

I was exploring various communities until I have found this amazing community of beautiful ladies. This is my first time to post in this community and I am very excited to go with the flow and answer a very unique question by @saffisara which asked about weird food combinations, specifically:

What weird food combinations do you really enjoy?

Remembering about weird food combinations, I could say that when I was young, I had already tasted a plenty of weird food combinations since I grew up without a silver spoon.

My mother back then was very resourceful when it comes to foods may it be weird or not because she has to do a very tight budget for it is only my father who was working to sustain our daily needs, and my mother had no work. She was left at home to take care of us and cooked delicious and weird meals too.

But my mother had even a weird experience than our generation because they were used to eat, cooked rice combined with soy sauce and oil, without any other dish, as she also grew up in poverty.

As of the moment, the one which first popped my mind is a perennial Filipino favorite known as Kare-Kare.

Have you ever wondered why this is a weird food combinations?

Personally, I consider this as a weird food combinations because it seems like all of my taste buds are enjoying it. Perhaps it is weird but palatable.

Kare-Kare is weird but palatable!

img_3513

As shown on the image is a food presentation of “Kare-Kare” soaked in plenty of ingredients, wherein you could see the sliced pechay leaf, sliced long beans, ground peanuts, soaked in vinegar, water, oil, and peanut butter, along with a combination of tender pork cuts and simmered beef.

I took this photo three days ago, when I had ordered a “Kare-Kare” in one of the best homemade foods in our town. I only ordered it but I really know how to cook this weird but palatable menu. Next time, I will be the one to prepare it and I would love to share my content to all
of you my awesome friends.

This is a weird food combinations because of its variety of ingredients making the food to have sweet, salty, bitter, and sour sensations. All of my taste buds are really enjoying it. The following are the ingredients of this weird but palatable menu.

Ingredients

•1 cup vinegar
•5 cups of water
•1 piece banana heart
•1 bundle of pechay
•2 trimmed eggplant, sliced in 1-2 inches thick
•1 dozen long beans, sliced with 3-4 inches lengths
•3/4 cup of flour
•2 cups annatto powder
•2 cups peanut butter
•1 thinly sliced big onion
•2 tablespoons oil
•6 cloves of minced garlic
•shrimp paste
•salt
•pepper

This food is commonly prepared during celebrations and special occasions due to a lot of processes involved before it will be cooked, not to mention that the choice of meat of either beef cuts or pork cuts must be simmered for hours to achieve a desired tenderness. And this is best when served hot with shrimp paste on the side.

A variety of ingredients such as vinegar, water, banana heart, pechay, eggplant, long beans, flour, annatto powder, peanut butter, onion, oil, garlic, shrimp paste, salt, and pepper, that are really making the food to be sweet, salty, bitter, and sour.

22525f62_7f42_4846_a4ea_1ded102a0960.jpeg

Why not give this a try, my ever beautiful dear ladies of hive. Experience its sweet, salty, bitter, and sour taste and share it with your loved ones.

This may be weird but this is palatable. And most importantly, despite being a weird food combinations, it would always be best when shared with all of you my gorgeous ladies.

Thank you so much for your time and attention. I hope to see you on my next post.

Much love,
@pinkchic

(All photos and contents by me.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency