#117 - Friendship

I'm taking part on Ladies of Hive community contest for the very first time and they asked:

"Scenario 1: A reputation 52 friend says that she no longer wants to be active in Hive, claiming that she can't make the time, the coin is so low valued, and only a few people ever read her posts. What could you do to encourage and help her to keep trying? Writing tips? Time management? Other?"

I felt like I had to write about this, because if my friend would tell me that they are frustrated on any of those matters, I would totally just support them to do what feels best for them.

Because is it really friendship if I need to downplay their feelings? Make her to continue when I know that if I would be in the same situation, I would just want support, not pep talk about how its going to be okay if you just do X.

If I can`t support my friend when they are feeling like that, can I really call myself a friend?

The harsh reality is that 90-95% who are upvoting over here will not actually read or comment your posts, so the feeling is valid in my opinion and it can be soul crushing if you actually are looking to build community. If you feel like you have higher number than that, then I must tip my hat off as that is rare.

So my friend wants to quit and I will totally support her on her journey. But of course I do have recommendations for her account.

Girl, don´t delete your account or down power, because you might change your mind at some point.

Let´s just Dlease your HP, you will get 10-16% APR and let´s convert all possible loose Hive into HBD, put it on savings and you will have 20% APR. And boom. Now the account you don´t want to use anymore will bring you yearly 30 - 46% APR. Just log in once a month to move assets around and you don´t need to do anything else.

So why I´m giving this type if advise and not make her carry on?

Because I myself get yearly depression and sometimes even yearly burnout. I know exactly how impossible it´s to produce anything when feeling any negative emotions and if someone would be pressing me on, it would just make us end our friendship and not in a pretty way.

Yes, when you just come and go on Hive, your account will suffer and some people will unfollow you and not even give you upvotes anymore.

But who cares, they were not your real friends to begin with.

So girl, you do you as long it makes you feel good.

That is all that matters.

Thank you for reading my likely very unpopular opinion in this matter.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency