Ladies of HIVE Community Contest #85

img_0.5405676593568657
(photo credit Dype Official on Unsplash.com)

How do you handle corrections or criticisms from other people?

Improving oneself through corrections and criticisms from other people is a lifelong process that begins at a young age starting with parents or guardians, followed by adult relatives, teachers, siblings, peers, coaches, significant others and a life time filled with (sometimes impossible to please) bosses in the workplace.

Being a sensitive person and a "people pleaser" by nature, it took me decades to learn to handle constructive criticism in a positive manner. Looking back, it was when I was in my mid 20's when learned to be able to welcome and process all feedback without feeling hurt. I realize I am not perfect and never will be, nor do I have a "one-size-fits-all" personality. There is always room for self improvement and self growth.

However, the constantly negative "Debbie Downer" types of people in the world get under my skin. To save myself I had to find a way to identify those toxic people and totally shut out their "feedback" rather than get dragged through the mud

Instead of being critical and always undermining others, it's a good idea to look at oneself and clean up your own house!

Do you want to know where the term Debbie Downer originated? Click here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Debbie_Downer A clearer definition: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/Debbie%20Downer

Once you realize you can never make everyone happy 100% of the time -- whether it is your mother, father, boyfriend/girlfriend, spouse, neighbor, coworker, boss, etcetera -- you learn to filter through the corrections and criticism from other people to identify your areas that truly need work and improvement.

Until I take my very last last breath, I am a work in progress...

This is my entry to the Ladies of Hive Community Contest #85

Questions and judging this week by: @ifarmgirl

© 2022 Nina Haskin. All rights reserved



Thank you for taking time to stop by and visiting my blog. I truly appreciate everyone's continued support! Stay positive and live your best life!
🔆 💜🌙

img_0.825395372722915.jpg
Blinkie by thekittygirl💕

Join the Ladies of HIVE by clicking the blinkie!



2020_07_13_17_40_39.gif

Proud member of

@thealliance @steemusa @qurator @steemitbloggers @ladiesofhive

Posted using @Ecency

image

img_0.7121503210873764.jpg


Simple Posted with Ecency footer



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency