The One Job I’d Be Terrible At [#LOH CONTEST 122]

Hello ladies,

It’s yet another week and I’m very delighted to be part of this week’s topic. It was fun reading what others had to say on the topics for the week. I mean, who would have thought most of you ladies actually think you’d be bad at doing something?
I thought we all decided to be good at whatever we do?

Anyways, after much thought I finally decided to share my thoughts on the topic;

2️⃣ What job would you be absolutely terrible at?

I’ve been thinking about this for two good days. Asking myself what job I’d be terrible at. It was hard coming up with something because I haven’t actually had a real job.

I’d say schooling has been my full time job all my life. Funny right?😂 I’m not really terrible at this life long job of mine because I try to put in my best and giving up is not an option for me either.

Now, to the real world.Upon analyzing my strengths and weaknesses and comparing them to most job requirements, I finally came to the realization that I would be a really really terrible farmer, specifically a Crop Farmer.

source

I’ve always had an interest in crop farming because it has to do with growing healthy produce for consumption. Crop farming is one hell of a profitable business because who doesn’t eat? Not me. The profit from the job and also the idea of providing food for others brings me so much joy but thinking of all the struggles I have to go through to make this a success gives me a headache.

Why would I be a terrible crop farmer?

Time factor

As we have all read or seen in movies or in real life, as a farmer you need to be up very early. I have seen a farmer cultivate rice right behind my hostel on campus and he is up as early as 6am to cater for his crops.

source

That wouldn’t be a problem for me. The actual problem here is the fact that farming is really time consuming. As a farmer , you need to pay very close attention to your crops and also invest a whole lot of time in cultivating and taking care of your crops.
Having to spend that much time on a farm in the hot sun is something I don’t think I can do. I think I’m just not built for that

Health

I strongly believe that I would be a terrible farmer because my body would not allow that. I’m someone who catches cold very easily and having to work with soil, grains and all of that would be very bad for my health.

source

Imagine catching a cold after cultivating some grains of rice or some vegetables. Maybe I could find my way around it but I don’t really think it would be good for me.

Fatigue

In Ghana, farming requires a whole lot of strength. I know that farming is a lot easier in developed countries due to the availability of machines to speed up the work.

source

I’ve heard stories of individuals having to weed for long periods of time and also cultivate crops one after the other.
Man! I wouldn’t have the strength and patience for that.

Although I like and respect crop farming, I don’t think I would be able to live up to task and do all that is required. The time needed to effectively farm is a big factor and my health condition are major factors that will prevent me from crop farming. I could try but I’m pretty sure I’ll be ill 4 out of 7 times a week.

I wouldn’t want to be that one farmer whose produce is bad because I like to do what I do perfectly.

Thank you for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency