Ladies of Hive Community Contest #155 - Self care practices

These are some of the sensitive questions for a woman. In their lifetime they go through so many physical changes within and sometimes it's a challenge to deal with them. This week I have suggested 2 questions for all the ladies of the @LadiesofHive community. You can check the Contest

1️⃣ We Women have multiple phases in our life where we go through hormonal imbalance, like monthly menstruation, pregnancy, menopause. Not only our physical but our mental health also gets impacted. Share with us, how do you take care of these sensitive times and take care of your physical and mental health? 𝐀𝐍𝐃 / πŽπ‘ ~

2️⃣ Breast and Uterine Cancer is a big concern for us women and they have become very common health conditions. What are the self-care measures that you are taking to ensure that your health is at its optimal level? How often do you get your medical checkup done, and what are the day-to-day, self-care routines you follow?

🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸

I am nearing to 50 and have gone through almost all of these mentioned phases of life and there has been challenges to face. 10 years ago I was having extreme issues with my monthly cycle, and I would bleed heavily. It would be so bad that I could not even think of going out, it would go on continuously for 15 to 20 days. I was taking a treatment which was not being effective. Along with the periods bleeding I was also losing out the good blood. My Hemoglobin level was at 6 and weight would never go above 48. Serious vitamin deficiencies I had. The reason for all of it was a formation of a Polyp. The doctor for a long time kept me on oral meds, and there was no improvement. Finally I had to undergo a surgery to remove the polyp and thereafter the problem was resolved. I had a nightmare of 4 months into it. From there on I started taking a lot of supplements to improve the vitamin deficiency levels.

From there on I started doing a regular full body check up once a year and a comprehensive blood test every six months. That time I was careless, never bothered much about my health. The only thing that I would take care of then also was my weight and diet, which I would always make it a point that it is majorly home cooked food.

During my pregnancy which has been a long time now, but I remember that I had severe morning sickness and every morning I would puke. The discomfort, uneasiness was all through out the 9 months. And after the delivery there was another set of issues, like massive hair loss and weight gain. It took a year for my body to become normal again.

I am in my menopause phase now and I have been taking some hormone balance supplements, thankfully I do not have many effects of the phase but yes I can feel that my body is changing. Previously I was comfortable to hot temperatures and now I am not able to tolerate heat much. I get hot flashes suddenly at night in sleep, which disturbs my sleep, so I need to put on the air conditioner all through out the night to ensure a good sleep.

In the last 10 years after the surgery I have become very mindful about my health. I go for regular full body massages and I tell the lady to notice any lumps or unusual thing in my body. I have never been in favor of allopathy medicines and rely more on natural therapies and supplements. My half yearly blood routine helps me in a big way. I can monitor the vitamin levels and work on them.

In all of this my Son is a big help, he guides me. He practices Functional Medicine and he keeps a check on all my reports and monitors the progress. It is important to keep comparing it with the previous report then it's easy to understand if your health is progressing or declining.

This is my daily dosage of supplements. It's all distributed before and after the meals during the day and some in powder and some in pills form.

image.png

image.png

Some of my friends say that I take overdose of supplements, may be. But my aim is to have an optimal health, and with ageing the body minerals and vitamins also deplete fast, so it is required. And it is not on permanent basis I have to take all of them. As I mentioned that I keep monitoring my reports and then accordingly alter the requirements.

Besides this daily fitness regime is a part of my day care to dos. I do deep breathing, Yoga, Meditation and a 20 minutes daily walk. I get too much caught up in work, but I make it a point to spend some time in reading good positive life enhancing books and on and off spending time on some of my favorite hobbies like candle making, drawing Mandalas and making infused oils . I like to spend time outdoors in nature over the weekend, this rejuvenates my body and mind, and I ensure to get my 7 hours of minimum sleep at night. All of this helps boost my mental health and keeps me in a positive frame of mind. After all optimal health is all about taking care of physical, mental and emotional health.

I feel healthier now when I am close to my 50s to when I was in my 30s and I believe that my current lifestyle and ways is helping me a lot.

Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈ

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif

image.png

"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency