Ladies of Hive Community Contest #80 - My Self Reliant Garden

This week @ladiesofhive - Contest comes up with these two questions. I would like to answer the first one.

1️⃣ If you plan to grow a vegetable garden, what is your favorite vegetable to grow and what dishes do you use if for? Feel free to include a special recipe using that vegetable!

Or

2️⃣ Do you ever wish for simpler times, or do you prefer the modern 'techy' world of today? Which would you choose to live by, and why?

image.png


Ideally, I would love to have a big garden where I can grow all the vegetables that are used in my kitchen on a day-to-day basis and be self-reliant, not only vegetables but on a regular basis would also love to grow seasonal fruits in my Garden.
The Covid times taught us many things and from that one most important is how to be self-reliant. I have been putting serious thoughts around this and for the very reason lately I bought a piece of land far away from the city in a very small interior village which is cut off from all the hustle and bustle of the city life and gives a very peaceful environment. I plan to fulfill my gardening dreams in this place.

To answer the question if I have to select one vegetable only to grow in my garden, what would that be. Well, it's a very difficult thing to just decide on one of it and I am thinking what would be that best one thing which can be put to multiple use and if nothing else is available also I can sustain on it, though I am not a very big fan of this vegetable, but it all comes down to a good amount of usability and being self-reliant.

That one vegetable would be Potato. Initially the first thought that came to my mind was Onion, because we use Onion almost in every dish that we prepare, it is the base for all gravies and curries, but here I am thinking of sustainability in case I have option to only grow one vegetable. In general, also Potato can be put to a good use in many dishes. I can prepare a simple potato gravy or a curry or even dry potato in many different ways. In Indian cuisine Potato Bhaji is famous which is had with Puris or Chapati. It can also be used in preparing a bake dish, can be grilled and a combination of grilled potatoes and boiled eggs is something I like.

image.png
Source

If there is no other vegetable available and if only potatoes are available, then also, I can manage for some days by not getting bored as I mentioned many dishes can be created out of this vegetable. The other thing is Potatoes grow fast and they are easy to grow, which makes it all the more convenient. Which also reminds me of the movie Martian where the actor survives being stranded on Mars by growing potatoes—using his own feces for fertilizer.

That's the vegetable of my choice which I will prefer to grow in my Garden.

I will like to invite @sugandhaseth to participate in the contest.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency