LOH Contest #156; Hopelessness is not an option


source

Hello everyone, trust y'all are had a good day.
Yeah, i have gone through many times of despondency and disappointment in my life. To my own understanding there are times and seasons in our lives were we go through tough times.

There was this time when I lost my both parents, i was grieved, depressed, weak, hopeless and lost. I did not know exactly where to start from especially i was now the one left to cater for my remaining family.

But in spite of this situation, what helped me overcome this state is that i understood that I was not the only one who has faced or gone through this kind of situation but that some people do face the same challenges and even more and come out smiling, victorious and strong.

Although i am this kind of an introvert person, so i was just all myself alone indoors crying, thinking of all sorts of things, worrying and the rest. But on a cool day, I had to go out and leave my comfort zone, called some of my friends to come over for some hangout in a cool place and they eventually did come around. It was really a nice time. We played different types of games and all of them had to pray for me and encouraged me.

They were not still satisfied so they had to come to my place for a sleepover. We had fun that night, we watched movies, cooked and played games and all of a sudden i started regaining strength, courage and hope. I also had my phone close to me during this period. Sometimes when suicidal thoughts came in, i would just have to pick my phone and get busy. It really also helped me overcome those feelings.

However , I started doing things that made me feel happy and excited, like trying out new recipes, watching talk shows, listening to good music, reading motivational books and surrounding myself with good people who also understood how i felt.

What made me hold tightly to hope; I had this thought that no challenge or situation stays forever. It will come and go and live still goes on but it depends on how you act when faced with this challenge .

There is a phrase that says;

One day, if not already, your refusal to give up will inspire someone else.

If you act positively to that situation you are facing, it could surely inspire another person facing that same situation. There are always times and ways you could rise up, learn new things and continue growing.

Overcoming depression and disappointment could not be an easy one. it needs time, work and strength. You could also advice from friends and perhaps people who has also passed through that same phase in life. Writing this piece is an emotional one but i’m glad in all of this, i came out strong.

Finally my wonderful Ladies of Hive, I won’t wish anyone this kind of sad story or experience but if it happens, don’t loose hope, just be encouraged that you will come out strong.

I’m so happy to share my experience in this community @ladiesofhive and i hope it will be a source of encouragement to another person facing this kind of situation.

Thanks for reading!

I am @mummygo
I still minister smiles

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency