Defendiendo el ser en quien me he convertido. Mi verdad mas cruda. Ladies of Hive Contest #100 [Eng/Esp]


Fuente

Don't let anyone judge you, because only you know who you are.


This post is both in English and Spanish, you can go directly to Español by clicking HERE



This week, I received the invitation to participate in this contest from two dear friends: @valrodriguez and @soyunasantacruz, who answered the two questions in their respective posts (a different one in their respective blog).

So, given the circumstances, I feel committed to participate, especially because maybe with this, it will help a little someone who is going through a similar situation. Besides that it is the number 100 contest in this community, how not to be present!

Before answering the question, it is necessary to contextualize the situation under which the disease developed.

I believe that stress in itself is not a disease, but that it paves the way for the development of a condition in some organ that is weak within us.

This is how gastric ulcers, tension problems and even neurological diseases develop, which if not treated can end up being a mental illness.

Epilepsy, as we know it, is the episodes of convulsions and subsequent fainting of the patient, who loses consciousness and foams at the mouth. But this disease has many other variants, which are not well known to the average person.

Episodes of absence seizures and cerebral dysrhythmia can be considered as less radical forms of epilepsy, according to my treating physician.

Where I am going with this. In my youth, when I was 22 years old, I was working under a heavy stress load that triggered a series of illnesses that I have had to deal with ever since, but which, thanks to the help of a professional in psychology, I have kept at bay, so as not to succumb.


Fuente




For two years I was between bulimia and anorexia nervosa, which made me fluctuate in my weight in such a radical way that I went from a size 16 to an 8 in just one month!

After that, the radical insomnia began to take its toll, until I developed a predisposition to epilepsy. In this case, inherited from my maternal grandmother, who suffered from epileptic episodes since she was a child, fainting every time it happened, and minimizing after being quite advanced in age.

In my case, I went on to have severe cerebral dysrhythmia. This led me to take medication for 5 years and psychiatric therapies for 3 years, which were suspended for my first pregnancy, although my doctor monitored me along with my obstetrician and said that if necessary, I should resume the medication.

His biggest concern was postpartum depression, which does not always occur, but given my history, it could be dangerous.

In fact, 3 months after giving birth, I did not go to the laundry room for 3 days for fear of ingesting chlorine. That was what my mind was telling me to do. I carried on in silence, applying what I had learned in therapy, until I could not take it anymore and asked for help. From that day on, all cleaning products were removed from my house.

Since then, I live with voices in my head, which I recognize can become annoying, and perhaps that is why I try to do many things, to keep my mind busy.

If an idle mind can generate negative things, can you imagine how mine can function with this predisposition?

For a long time I have been counting the days until I can move on, and motherhood has been an escape valve for those thoughts, but every now and then I count the days until my children are old enough to become financially independent and I can leave.

It's not schizophrenia, nor is it bipolar. Both have been ruled out for me, it's just a brain that is so active, it gets tired very quickly and prefers not to go on (sometimes) or make up skills to keep its sanity.

Now, to the question Do you know how to be an effective advocate for your loved one or friend when faced with a mental health issue?.

Actually yes, I have advocated with everything, being the way I am. In fact my psychiatrist, after my diagnosis, called everyone who shared a house with me separately and instructed them on how to live with someone with my condition.

I am an advocate for being different, and I have accepted my reality as what I have had to live with. In fact, sometimes frustration leads me to self-destructive thoughts, which I fight by sleeping, that's already a signal that my brain should shut down due to "overheating".

Do you know how to respond, who to turn to for help?

At first I didn't know. In fact my description was like being in front of a tsunami without being able to run away to escape. Later on, I understood that these are episodes, and like a wave, it comes and goes again. Then it's just a matter of waiting, breathing and being aware that you are in the unknown dimension, but that you are going to get out.


Fuente




However, I keep the anti-suicide line handy for extreme cases (I have never used it, and I hope I don't), and the best thing, just in the most extreme moments, one of my children unconsciously appears and pulls me out of the chaos.

Have you ever faced a challenge of this kind?

More than once! It's not something to brag about, but I take pride in knowing that I have been able to control serious episodes in my life, and that even though my head plays against me many times, I have been the one to win in this turbulent sea.

Saying I can't, I don't want to, I don't deserve it, in due time, takes away the stress that can trigger a new harmful episode.

I now stand up for who I am, and accept myself with all the rivets that life has given me. I am not perfect, but I love being me. I am a winner!


If you want to know about cerebral dysrhythmia, you can check this artícle



separador_mamaemigrante._png



No dejes que nadie te juzgue, porque solo tu sabes quien eres



español




Esta semana, me ha llegado la invitación a participar en este concurso de parte de dos queridas amigas.@valrodriguez y @soyunasantacruz, quienes respondieron a las dos preguntas en sus respectivos post (una distinta en sus respectivos post)

Así que, dadas las circunstancias, me siento en el compromiso de participar, sobre todo porque quizás con ello, ayude un poco a alguien que esté pasando por una situación similar. Además que es el concurso número 100 en esta comunidad, cómo no estar presente!

Antes de responder la pregunta, es necesario contextualizar la situación bajo la cual se desarrolló la enfermedad.

Considero que el stress en sí, no es una enfermedad, sino que allana el desarrollo de una afección en algún órgano que esté débil dentro de nosotros.

Es así como se desarrollan úlceras gástricas, problemas de tensión e inclusive, enfermedades neurológicas, que de no ser tratadas pueden terminar siendo una enfermedad mental.

La epilepsia, tal como la conocemos, son los episodios de convulsiones y posterior desmayo del paciente, quien pierde el conocimiento y expulsa espuma por la boca. Pero esta enfermedad tiene muchas otra variantes, que no son del todo conocidas por el común de las personas.

Episodios de crisis de ausencias y disritmia cerebral, pueden considerarse como formas de epilepsia menos radicales, de acuerdo con mi médico tratante.

A donde quiero llegar con esto. En mi juventud, cuando tenía 22 años, estuve trabajando bajo una fuerte carga de stress que desencadenó una serie de enfermedades con las que he tenido que lidiar desde entonces, pero que gracias a la ayuda de un profesional en la psicología, he mantenido a raya, para no sucumbir.


Fuente




Durante dos años estuve entre la bulimia y la anorexia nerviosa, que me hacía fluctuar en mi peso de una manera tan radical que pasé de una talla 16 a una 8 en tan solo un mes!

Luego de ello, el insomnio radical empezó a hacer mella, hasta desarrollar mi predisposición a la epilepsia. En este caso, heredada por parte de mi abuela materna, quien padecía de episodios epilépticos desde muy niña, quedando desmayada cada vez que sucedía, y minimizándose luego de estar bastante avanzada en edad.

En mi caso, pasé a tener disritmia cerebral severa. Ello me llevó a tomar medicamentos durante 5 años y paralelamente terapias psiquiátricas por 3, las cuales fueron suspendidas por mi primer embarazo, aunque mi médico me monitoreaba a la par de mi obstetra y decía que de ser necesario, debía retomar la medicación.

Su preocupación más grande, era la depresión post parto, la cual no siempre se presenta, pero dado mi antecedente podía ser peligroso.

De hecho, a los 3 meses de dar a luz, estuve 3 días sin entrar al lavandero, por temor a ingerir cloro. Eso era lo que me indicaba mi mente que hiciera. Lo llevé en silencio, aplicando lo aprendido en terapia, hasta que no pude más y pedí ayuda. Desde ese día, todo producto de limpieza fue retirado de mi casa.

Desde entonces, vivo con voces en mi cabeza, que reconozco que pueden llegar a ser molestas, y quizás por eso es que trato de hacer muchas cosas, para mantener mi mente ocupada.

Si una mente ociosa puede generar cosas negativas, pueden imaginar como puede funcionar la mía con esta predisposición?

Desde hace mucho cuento los días que faltan para pasar de plano, y la maternidad ha sido una válvula de escape para esos pensamientos, pero cada tanto saco la cuenta de cuanto falta para dejar a mis hijos ya grandes como para lograr su independencia financiera y yo poder partir.

No es esquizofrenia, tampoco bipolaridad. Ambas cosas me fueron descartadas, es simplemente un cerebro tan activo, que se cansa muy rápido y prefiere no seguir (a veces) o inventarse destrezas para mantener la cordura.

Ahora, ante la pregunta ¿Sabes cómo ser un defensor eficaz de tu ser querido o de tu amigo cuando se enfrenta a un problema de salud mental?

De hecho si, he defendido con todo, el ser como soy. Mi psiquiatra, luego de mi diagnóstico, llamó por separado a todos los que compartían casa conmigo y les indicó cómo vivir con alguien de mi condición.

Defiendo el ser diferente, y he asumido mi realidad como lo que me ha tocado vivir. De hecho, a veces la frustración me lleva a pensamientos autodestructivos, que combato durmiendo, esa ya es una señal que me indica que mi cerebro debe apagarse por "sobrecalentamiento".

¿Sabe cómo responder, a quién dirigirse para pedir ayuda?

Al principio no lo sabía. De hecho mi descripción era como estar frente a un tsunami sin poder salir corriendo para escapar. Ya luego, entendí que son episodios, y así como una ola, viene y se vuelve a ir.
Entonces solo es cuestión de esperar, respirar y hacer consciente que estás como en la dimensión desconocida, pero que vas a salir.


Fuente




Sin embargo, tengo a mano la línea anti-suicidio para casos extremos (no la he usado nunca, y espero no hacerlo), y lo mejor, justo en los instantes más extremos, alguno de mis hijos de manera inconsciente aparece y me saca del caos.

¿Te has enfrentado alguna vez a un reto de este tipo?

Más de una vez! No es algo para alardear, pero me siento orgullosa de saber que he podido controlar episodios graves en mi vida, y que a pesar de que mi cabeza me juega en contra muchas veces, yo he sido la que ha ganado en este mar turbulento.

Decir que no puedo, no quiero, no lo merezco, en su debido momento, aleja el stress que puede desencadenar un nuevo episodio nocivo.

Ahora defiendo ser quien soy, y me acepto con todos los remaches que me ha dado la vida. No soy perfecta, pero me encanta ser yo. Soy una ganadora!


Si deseas saber sobre la disritmia cerebral, puedes consultar este artículo



Invito a @corinadiaz a participar


separador_mamaemigrante._png


Fotografías por/Photografy by: Nick Fewings, Annie Spratt, Dustin Belt, (all from unsplash)
Separador by: cortesy of @valeriavalentina
Edición/Edition by: @mamaemigrante
Traducido por/ translate with: www.deepl.com/translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency