Never take things for granted in life

It's been quite a stressful 24 hours. Basic things we take for granted such as water can be taken away within seconds.

It all started last night, our shower was blocked (luckily after we had our shower!!!) and we spent two hours trying to unblock it with nothing but a plunger. In the end I had to scope out all the water from the shower tray. It took me ages and I must have discarded about 40 liters as there was overflow from the cistern (clean water I have to stress) and the hand washing basin. By 2am the water had levelled at the water outlet level and it looked like there was no more water flowing to the shower. I was quite exhausted and decided to call it a day/night. I went to bed but didn't sleep very well as I was worried the water might start to overflow again. Luckily it didn't.

DSC_1174.JPG


The next morning I went to the shops to get some baking soda and vinegar. I threw some baking soda down the shower drain followed by equal amount of vinegar. It fizzed. Then I flushed a bucket of hot water at it hoping it would all flush away immediately. Nope. It just sat there in my shower tray. If I had a rubber duck, I'm sure it would have happily swam in there. So the whole episode from the previous replayed again. The plunger came out, but that didnt work, though it did pump out some gunk and grime. Not the prettiest sight, but at least the soda and vinegar was of some use.

Hubby went out to the shops to get one of those drain unblocker wire thingy, whilst I started to scope the water out. To cut a long story short, after two more hours none of the soda and vinegar, plunger and the drain unblocker thingy worked. I gave up and called Steve, the plumber. He identified the problem being the Saniflo toilet. This is the pump behind the toilet that puverises all the toilet waste into liquid and flushes it away via a small pipe. Normal toilets discards the waster via the general waste pipes. By they way, I've learnt quite a lot about how toilet drainage system works today.


Steve said he'd be around tomorrow morning and told me not to use this toilet for the night. Luckily we have another shower we can use. Problem solved for the time being, or so I thought. Hubby went to check out the other shower which we've never used before, just to make sure everthing was ok. As soon as he turned on the water, one of the mixers fell off!!!!
DSC_1160.JPG

Water started gushing out side ways splashing onto the shower screen. No matter how he tried, he couldn't attach the mixer back on. And none of the screwdrivers or pilers could switch the valve off. Hubby was pretty much drenched! I called Steve again, and luckily he agreed to come over immediately. That still took a good twenty minutes, very quick for an emergency plumber callout in UK, but ages when water is gushing out from the shower. Anyway, to cut another long story short. When Steve arrived, he found the water mains and switched it off immediately. The shower mix couldn't be fixed and the water won't stop gushing if the water mains is on....... and hence we're without water tonight ☚ī¸
PSX_20201020_224840.jpg


There's always a silver lining to things, and we're not 100% without water. I live above a vacant shop that has its own water mains so we've been carrying bucket loads of water upstairs. I have about 40 liters to last us for the night, just need to make sure we limit out pee times 🙄
DSC_1172.JPG

DSC_1173.JPG


Cooking is out of the question tonight, what would we do without home delivery especially when it's raining.
DSC_1171.JPG

Joking aside, this little episode has really made me appreciate things that I normally take for granted. Often you hear stories about how some people in this world still live without clean water. My experience won't change the world and it won't improve the lives of those who have no access to clean water. Does my view on no longer taking things for granted matter at all if I don't actually do something to make this world a better place? Do I have a moral obligation to action whenever I have a reflection in life? Or is it ok to just reflect?

I'm blabbling now as it's getting late.....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency