Baby sitting Baby Arthur

Been really busy the past few days, and tonight is the first time I had a couple of hours spare. Last week I've been spending a lot more time with my great nephew Baby Arthur. I've never spent a long period of time with babies, so this is all new to me, and an absolutely lovely experience. I'm loving it.
DSC_3157.JPG
livinguktaiwan divider.png

Baby Arthur loves to sit by the window to watch the street outside. I think he's just discovered windows. He always puts his little hands on the glass and when he hits it too hard making a sound, he gives out a little smile. Now my windows have got stains from his little wet paws. Yuck!!!
pixlr_20210412140608831.jpg

When he's on good behaviour, he'll lie down and play on his own. This is one of his favourite toy. There are items dangling off on both ends and some of the flaps around the toy make a crunchy noise when he grabs on to it. It's been very interesting watching his grab developing. A few weeks ago, he was just stroking things and couldn't hold onto anything, now he is quite good and can grab things that are in front of him.
DSC_3138.JPG

Sometimes, I don't know what he's trying to do, but it's so funny watching him kicking his little feet around whilst trying to grab onto this toy. Maybe he thinks it's a football?!!
DSC_3143.JPG

DSC_3142.JPG

I did quite a bit of babysitting last week as Arthur's mummy and granny were both busy and I volunteered to play with help look after him. After he got tired of watching the outside, and kicking his massive toy around, it was time to go to sleep. That is when he gets annoying!!! I've learned to soothe him now so he doesn't cry, but it's really tiring as I have to hold him and walk around. He won't let me sit down. Apparently, he does that to everybody, including his mummy. How annoying is that!!! As I was walking around, suddenly his little head dropped on my shoulder and he fell asleep. That was such a lovely feeling, not because I could sit down now, but because it was such an achievement for me. I put a baby to sleep for the first time. I know it sounds silly to all you mum and dads out there, but hey, I don't have babies, so it's a first for me!!!!
DSC_3124.JPG


I love watching Baby Arthur play. He learnt to turn over a couple of weeks ago but he hasn't done it much since. Now he plays with his little feet all the time. It's so funny watching him tugging his feet upwards. I haven't seen him suck his toes yet, but his mummy says he does it sometimes. He can only grab one foot, normally his right one. And when his left foot gets tired he flops over to the left, and he still doesn't let go of his right foot. He'll just continue to wriggle his little bum around. It so funny watching him. I could spend hours doing that.

livinguktaiwan divider.png
By the way, in case anyone is wondering, no UK Covid lockdown rules were broken when these photos were taken. Baby Arthur and his parent have moved into the property that I am staying, therefore we are part of the same household, and that's why I can baby sit and play with him.

I'm loving this new living arrangement, albeit a temporary one only.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency