Visit to the “Circle of Animals/ Zodiac Heads” exhibition from Ai Weiwei ~ Málaga Spain 🇪🇸

Hi all 👋🏻

Today I want to share with you all a small selection of photographs I took of an EXHIBITION I visited from Ai Weiwei in September 2015. 😎😊

Title of the exhibition: ”Circle of Animals / Zodiac Heads”

The exhibition was from 18 September 2015 - 6 December 2015 in the CAC Málaga Spain 🇪🇸 Contemporary Art Centre - Centro de Arte Contemporáneo de Málaga.

All photos are taken with my (late) Canon eos 550D.

The Artist’s Instagram can be found here: Ai Weiwei!

His website: Ai Weiwei!

Wikipedia page about him: You find here! (and is the source of the following text)

It states:
”Ai Weiwei is a Chinese contemporary artist, documentarian, and activist. Ai grew up in the far northwest of China, where he lived under harsh conditions due to his father's exile. As an activist, he has been openly critical of the Chinese Government's stance on democracy and human rights.”

Read a bit more about him to understand him. 🤓

This WEBSITE tells you all about this exhibition.
(and is the source of the following text)

It states:
”Internationally acclaimed Chinese contemporary artist Ai Weiwei has reinterpreted the twelve bronze animal heads representing the traditional Chinese zodiac that once adorned the famed fountain-clock of the Yuanming Yuan, an imperial retreat in Beijing. Circle of Animals / Zodiac Heads is the artist's first major public sculpture project.

Designed in the 18th century by two European Jesuits serving in the court of the Qing dynasty Emperor Qianlong, the twelve zodiac animal heads originally functioned as a water clock-fountain, which was sited in the magnificent European-style gardens of the Yuanming Yuan. In 1860, the Yuanming Yuan was ransacked by French and British troops, and the heads were pillaged. In re-interpreting these objects on an oversized scale, Ai Weiwei focuses attention on questions of looting and repatriation, while extending his ongoing exploration of the 'fake' and the copy in relation to the original.

Circle of Animals / Zodiac Heads is the centerpiece of a global, multi-year touring exhibition that will be presented in the United States, Europe, and Asia. The official world tour for Circle of Animals / Zodiac Heads by Ai Weiwei launched in New York City at the historic Pulitzer Fountain at Grand Army Plaza in May 2011.”


Text at the entrance towards the exhibition room.

Let me show you around now and do enjoy the exhibition of this great artist. I let my photos do the talking… as of course the sculptures will too 😉🤓


As you can see, they are rather large…

Which statue is your favourite?
Do you like this Artist’s style? Were you familiar with his work?

I do… my favourite work of Ai Weiwei in this exhibition is the dragon Zodiac 😎🥰😁 It is cool. 🐲🐉

My Chinese Zodiac is a Horse… 😉🤓 do you know your animal from the Chinese Zodiac?

If you don’t know, you can find out Here!
Let me know 🤓😎 if you want to share your Zodiac.

And that’s all for today, join me in my next posts for more #adventures, #stories and #photographs 😎👋🏻 Even some #artworks once in a while will come by 🎨
Thank you so much for looking, and reading. And if you liked my post, an upvote or re-blog is always welcome 🙏🏻

Have a great Sunday all 😎👋🏻
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider is Created by SilverFish / @ mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble 😉 So please don’t use them without my consent.

🖼 My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography 📸 Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency