β€œPurple” original Gouache Painting and airbrushed clouds artwork. The 5 steps how I created it πŸ¦‹πŸ˜Š

Hi all 😊

I wanted to share with you today my Gouache painting of a butterfly on some Agapanthus Flowers and show you the progress steps / step by steps of how I created it. (SBS)

09052012goed_naam.jpg
Title: ”Purple”

I finished this painting 05-2012 and it is one of my earlier Artworks.
I started my art in 2011, I am self taught. I love to share my progress steps of my artworks with you all and the world. 😊

This original painting is sold to one of my collectors and found its home in Devon, England.

I do have all kind of prints from this painting available, on different objects, if you would like a print from it have a look In My PrintShop!

~The Dimensions are 23 x 40 cm / 9.1 x 15.7 inch
~Underground is a mount-board.
~Gouache paints I am using are from Dahler Rowney and Winsor and Newton.
~reference photo used with permission from Cynthia Mattiuz Ashley.
~It depicts a butterfly on Agapanthus Flowers. πŸ¦‹

This painting/the subjects are painted with the normal brushes and gouache paint. The background/clouds I airbrushed with my airbrush gun and white gouache paint. I did add some blue with the airbrush on one side to give the sky a gradient flow in the blue.

Step 1
060520121918.jpg
Here you see I sketched in the main lines of the subjects. The flowers and butterfly. I started the background with the airbrush and added with white paint the clouds over the sketch. Then I painted with the normal brush and gouache paint the butterfly. So the subjects: butterfly and flowers will go on top of the clouds. By doing this I create a lot of depth.

Step 2
070520121921.jpg
I started painting the stems of the flowers.

Step 3
070520121928.jpg
Here I started with the flower buds and leaves.

Step 4 detail
080520121941.jpg
More progress and a detailed photo of the intricate details, to show you how many shades of purple and blue I use throughout the flowers. To bring every tiny flower to life, give it depth.

Step 4
080520121943.jpg
The full painting.

Step 5 finished painting
09052012goed.jpg
Here you can see the finished painting.

As it was traveling overseas it needed to be packed well and the collector and I decided to ship it without its glass in the frame.
(Framed Painting while it arrived at my collectors home.)
069fa19d_96e0_456b_8fae_058a3a1a5dba.jpeg

On my collectors wall in the office.
d64e4056_0266_45e1_be24_f8b6aae594f2.jpeg

I do love it when collectors send me a photo from my artworks hanging up on their walls. πŸ₯° Artists do you too? Do you ask for it or just hope they do?

Thank you for looking and reading. I hope you enjoyed my Step by Step of this butterfly on some Agapanthus Flowers painting. πŸ¦‹πŸ˜Š

With my future new artworks, I will make a more detailed step by step for you, maybe even videos.

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.😊 And talk about art.

Have a great day all πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘‹πŸ»
Grtz Jackie

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble. πŸ˜‰

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency