Ladies of Hive Community Contest #64 “ART”

Hi all 😊
With my first post in your community I will enter your contest #64. @emstone invited me to join 🥰
I will do my best to answer one of the questions. Both are rather hard for me. I see the contest is also almost over, even though I was quite busy today…. I will write now my post, resting in bed. It’s rather late already here in Spain. I’m not used to writing or talking about myself but here we go 🤞🏻

To answer the next question : ** What are you most grateful for right now?**

I have to go back quite a few years…
The thing I’m the most grateful for is ART

f9a97cc1_5b3b_4a9d_85f7_a1ae2b7719a2.jpg
(My graphite drawing “longing eyes”)

Because of the art world I am who I am today and where I am today. Many years ago I was in a really dark place. Physically and mentally… in my marriage… in everything. I wasn’t really living anymore. I didn’t exist anymore. Had no friends left as they were meticulously removed out of my live bit by bit over the years. With my family I wasn’t really in contact back then either as I moved out of my parents place when I was 16. And I had already not a large family anyway. So no one to fall back on.

But as it happens one day I discovered custom classic cars and motorcycles with it’s graphics, airbrush works and pinstriping.
I was not really a girly girl as I grew up building huts with the neighbourhoods boys in the bushes. Went to a buildings engineering school where there were only 4 girl in the entire school. I started working in a “mans world” as engineering draftsman/ women and 3D CAD engineer /architect. I repaired my own cars. Made furniture… could build a house if I want to.
I never had female friends as I was in a mans world.

73b73df4_b4e5_4261_90e1_e72985ed4c7c.jpg
(Wheel cover I airbrushed in 2014)

I ended up buying an air compressor, airbrush gun and some acrylic paints… and tried some airbrushing.
I never did arts before.

Quickly after I tried to draw a few things with graphite pencils… my first drawings. I didn’t have much materials but I made it work. This was around 2011.
Then I tried to combine my airbrush work with normal brush work in a painting.
I focussed on this… artworks. I started my Facebook account after finding on-line an airbrush forum and like minded people that encouraged me to show my artworks to the world. I did…
I got noticed quickly for my artworks and even got invited to a weekend long exhibition as a guest artist close by. By then I was teaching myself different mediums and techniques… I’m self taught. In the back of the house, tucked away.
I made my first pastel drawing, first gouache painting… just by doing it. They turned out really good. Without practicing, my first works just evolved by doing it. People were amazed how I created them out of nothing, being my first works in that technique/medium.

1f48e17b_a585_4828_89ef_a226986816c5.jpg
(My mixed technique painting “burning desire” first one I used the normal brush)

I didn’t know how to get there, the exhibition I was invited for, or even if I could manage to go… be along people… be seen. I am an introvert… I avoid people… was closed of from the outside world for years and years at that time. But I found the courage to break free and go to the exhibition with a few of my artworks. Away from my situation.

cc5a3643_5c5f_4c07_b241_602304acd420.jpeg
(Another exhibition a bit later)

I met there the most lovely and kind people, they just had to be there. In that moment, in that place. Crossing my path.
Even people that knew me from the forum showed up to see my art. From far away.
After spending some time there I got into a few long conversation with those people. That woke me up. I realised that something wasn’t right, I was in a bad place in sooooo many ways, they could even see it without me telling anything.

Something changed inside of me… that weekend at my first exhibition. I think those people where send to me to help me. I am grateful I met them 🥰
Through my Art I escaped my situation.
I ended up getting a divorce in 2013… and 2 years later I made my dream come true by moving out of the Netherlands.
I emigrated to Spain, alone.

Drove in my Classic Mini for 5 days through ice and snow in January 2015, over 2800km to start my new life all by myself. My belongings were transported by a friend I met through my art ( I airbrushed a wheel cover for him in exchange, see above ) in his camper-van following me all the way. We had quite some adventures along the way. To say the least 😉

Now I’m still here, in Spain exactly 7 years later this month. Alive, free and well… living under the living.
Creating my art… although I did move a lot lately that made me pauze creating my art. But I started again. (COVID doesn’t help either to get out and about, exhibit, meet people etc.)
But…
Doing what I love again. Learning new techniques and mediums. Creating. Sharing with the world 🌎

Finding Hive. Today 8 January, is exactly 1 month that I joined… sharing my art and photographs with you all.

Yes, I truly can say I am the most grateful for art…….. 🥰 and those few people that truly saw me and saved me.

I will write one day more about this subject…
But art saved my life… in many many ways.

7d2fc5ba_f0cd_42c0_b297_a8517b89aaf9.jpg

Photos are from me during a few exhibitions I had since 2011 until now. And a few of my artworks 🥰

I invite @tigermom to this Ladies of Hive community.
Click here: Ladies of Hive

Thank you so much for looking, reading and supporting me.🙏

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Have a great day all 🥰
Grtz Jackie

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency