Hair rebonding+ color + bleach (for highlights), and beach swimming damage my hair. Should I embrace my Curls, then?

received_941320143568924.jpeg

As for us Ladies, our hair serves as the crowning glory. Most of the time, it gives us much confidence, and we always feel beautiful once our hair is taken care of. Or it could be it goes the way we wanted. Unlike men, we have different hairstyles that should vary depending on the occasion or OOTD (outfit of the day).

Luckily, it was no longer a problem, but it was way back during my teenage years! I wasn't blessed with a beautiful crown; I mean hair. Mine was curly and a little bit kinky! Not only was it was so deceiving as it looked thick, but the truth is it wasn't. I remember back then, I was constantly teased that a cat's tail was thicker than my hair once it was on a pony! That made me insecure, and I vouched not to tie it again. Which made my Mom always mad as she said I looked like a witch 🤣. This was my routine until I graduated from High school (ready for college). I am not even fond of combing it; I don't care how I look.

Fast forward to college days, I started to act like a lady and would negotiate with my sisters to pay for salon services for hair relaxing - this was the cheapest as rebonding was so expensive back then as I was the one taking care their kids!

Somehow, I was contented as it could be tame though it only lasted for months. After that, no more glow up! Back to dull, dry hair. There was even a time when I was living with my cousin, and I woke up early in the morning. The room was dim, and I almost shouted when I faced the mirror! It closed off, giving me a heart attack, only to realize it was my reflection.

So when I started working, visiting a salon at least once a year as part of the routine, naturally, I had black hair.

333060633_174645325340559_8301297205477249727_n.jpg

Photo was taken five years ago and I got this from my Facebook account

However, as humans, we don't have that contentment sometimes, and hair coloring, bleaching and highlights were a trend year ago. As I was bored and stressed due to the pandemic, I decided to avail of hair services for rebond + color + bleach (for highlights)! I know, supposed bleaching wasn't allowed for rebonded hair, but I was hard-headed! I got what I wanted!

20220313_141401.jpg

Photo was taken sometime in 2021 in Mines View Baguio, Philippines

I was overjoyed after the hairstylist was done and had that feeling of beautiful the moment I stepped out!

No need to spend some money for vitress and combing from time to time to tame my hair. Finger comb was even enough!

But then, last September 2022, I took a vacation and went home to my hometown. An island somewhere in the Visayas. Beach was free and tempting; I wasn't able to resist!

Enjoy now; suffer later! Sometimes, that is my motto in life. I don't want to think of consequences as long as I am enjoying the moment, always grabbing the opportunity as sometimes it knocks only once as they say!

That vacation was truly a blast, as it lasted a month. Going back to reality also hit me that my hair was damaged.
Months ago, I underwent hair treatment, but I added hair color again. It was fine until last weekend during the recent trip at treasure mountain. I noticed that my hair resembles with Moana!

IMG_20230305_075619.jpg

The price I got those chemicals was applied to my hair!
My companion told me it was cute and I should embrace my curls. Really? Before you say that, too, take a look at this one;

IMG_5219.JPG

I sent this photo of mine in our family group chat, and my siblings teased me that I got lion hair.

Yes, having curly hair was nice at times, but taming or maintaining, it was hard. It needs a lot of effort.

Thus. I am also reconsidering letting my old hair grow and having some hair treatments.

How about you? How was your hair? 😁

lead image was edited using Canva
All photos are mine


Footer credit to Sensiblecast

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency