Share Your Battle: Cursed Windeku


Cursed Windeku.png
Photo from my account in Splinterlands.

introduction

Death element's main tank since Chaos Legion got released. Cursed windeku is a standard in any death builds as he is efficient and strong overall.







Lore

Cursed Windeku are nightmarish creatures that live in the deepest and darkest woods. They hunt at night, stalking their prey before attacking with their claws, while their thorn-like horns and natural healing ability provide an excellent defense,. They exude a pungent pheromone that reduces the reaction time of their victims, often allowing the Windeku to begin devouring them before they are dead. While these lifeless creatures may appear animalistic, they are highly intelligent. They have heeded the call put forth by the Lord of Darkness. Their thirst for blood is now focused on the Chaos Legion.
“I heard it again... that rustle of brush in the darkness of the forest. No mistaking it now. Something was stalking us.

I picked up my pace and urged Grewa to do the same. We hurried through the trees toward the inn. I could hear her panting behind me. Something howled then, but not like a wolf. Like a man who has gone mad with hunger.

I lost it. I ran. Ran as fast as my legs could carry me. And when I stumbled and fell and got up again, I realized I was alone. No sound of Grewa. No footfalls or heavy breath.

I rose to my feet and walked slowly back the way we'd come. I heard a sound. A wet, tearing sound. And in the middle of trees, not twenty yards away, I saw Grewa. And I saw it.

The beast was gaunt, its skin pulled tight over its bones. It was the ash-gray color of death, with sunken eyes, like a corpse recently risen from the grave, and twisted horns. And the smell. Oh, gods, the smell.

Its lips were tattered and bloody. It was Grewa's blood. It had torn her open and was feasting on her guts. And she... she was still moving. She let out a little whimper.

And I turned and I ran until I saw your light burning in the distance, and I kept running until I burst through the door.”

The man downed the rest of his tankard of ale and stared into the empty mug. The other patrons of the inn shifted in their seats.

“He's making it up,” one said.

“He's drunk,” said another.

The room burst into laughter. Conversations resumed. The man continued staring into his ale.

From somewhere in the dark of night outside rose a mad and hungry howl


Lore from Splinterlands.







Stats


Stats.JPG
Photo from my account in Splinterlands.

Mid mana cost but high health. Cursed Windeku also has an amazing thorns ability that damages any melee attacker by 2. He also has 3 speed allowing him to dodge a lot of melee and range attacks increasing his overall survivability.







Abilities

At Level 1, Cursed Windeku has the thorns ability. This allows him to reflect 2 damage to enemy melee that successfully hit him.

At level 6, Cursed Windeku gets the heal ability. For every 1/3 of his health, Cursed Windeku gets healed by 1, rounded down. This means he gets healed by 3 every turn.

At level 8 he gets the slow ability reducing opponent speed by 1. Combined with his 3 speed, this makes opponent miss a lot of attacks.







Battle Highlights

Click the link below to see the full game.
https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_dee173657800a9f5828fb03c37ca1100&ref=konaqua122







Rule Sets


Rulesets.JPG
Photo from my account in Splinterlands.

23 Mana cap is a mid mana cap battle. Due to Cursed Windeku's mid mana cost of 6, he is perfect for any mana cap range. He is also very efficient due to his thorns ability and high health. Cursed Windeku is really the king of tanks for death element.







Abilities Used

Flying.JPG

Thorns.JPG

Sneak.JPG

Opportunity.JPG

Magic Reflect.JPG

Tank Heal.JPG

Snipe.png


Abilities are taken from Splinterlands using my own account.







Round 1


r2.JPG
Photo from my account in Splinterlands.

Silent Sha-vi's Sneak kills Goblin Psychic

Battering Ram's opportunity attack kills Failed Summoner



Round 2


r3.JPG
Photo from my account in Splinterlands.

Child of the Forest sniped my Death Elemental

Cursed Windeku's attack kills Mycelic Morphoid

Undead Badger's Sneak kills Khmer Princess

Battering Ram's opportunity attack kills Child of the Forest



Round 4


r4.JPG
Photo from my account in Splinterlands.

Cursed Windeku's attack kills Regal Peryton







Author's Notes


Aqua Teacher.png

Do you like Cursed Windeku? Why or why not?

To me, Cursed Windeku's balancing is love and hate. Theoretically speaking, he's poorly balanced.

While the Thorns ability is strong, it has a condition that opponents must hit him first. His 3 speed combined with the slow ability at level 8 counteracts this ability allowing him to have increased dodge chance over slower opponents. However, due to his combined stats and abilities allowing him to dodge a lot of attacks, this helps the heal ability in popping off. Since opponents mostly misses, this allows him to have the healed damage saved for magic damage, which not only is unaffected by thorns ability, but also has a mechanics that it doesn't miss regardless of the monster's speed.

Combining these reasoning, i would say that while Cursed Windeku is poorly balanced, he is still quite strong and maybe one of the strongest card among death element cards.






Lineup


line.JPG
Photo from my account in Splinterlands.

Summoner: Thaddeus Brood: Good standard summoner for Death Element. Provides -1 magic damage and -1 health to all enemies. The -1 health allows Cursed Windeku's thorns ability to have more impact on the game.

  1. Cursed Windeku: Good death element tank overall. has good stats and good abilities.

  2. Silent Sha-Vi: My secondary tank that is able to attack from behind with the help of sneak ability. Good card overall.

  3. Death Elemental: The snipe ability allows you to deal with healers and other cards that your sneak ability might not be able to reach.

  4. Battering Ram: a 2 cost unit with an opportunity ability. He is also a neutral monster so you can place him in any games. Battering Ram is just a filler but a good one since he can still inflict damage while being in any position.

  5. Undead Badger: another filler with sneak ability same reason with battering ram but only usable on Death element team.

  6. Cursed Slimeball: a 1 cost filler that is just added because I have an extra mana left.



Did Your Strategy Worked?

Yes, my strategy worked perfectly. Everyone did their roles and I am happy with the result.



What would you try differently next time?

I do have a bias favor for Twisted Jester and would drop off both Battering Ram and Undead Badger for it. The combination of Death Elemental and Twisted Jester allows me to have 2 snipe ability users making the damage more focused and effective.







Disclaimer

  1. This post is an entry for Splinterland's Social Media Challenge contest.
  2. Other sources that I do not own are cited under their respective photos. Photos and drawings without cited sources are mine and made for this post.
If I seem to forget to cite other sources, this would be unintentional. Please leave it on the comments below to be added in the post. Thanks

If you're interested in playing the game, support me by registering using my referral link here



Have Fun Grinding!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency