LOH Contest #103: How Strict Should a Law Be?


LOH Contest #103 Cover.gif


Introduction

"On 13-Sep-2022, an Iranian woman (Mahsa Amini) was arrested for wearing her headscarf too loosely, which allowed a little of her hair to be visible. Witnesses attest that she was severely beaten while in police custody. At one point, she collapsed, but it was two hours later before police transported her to a hospital where it was noted that she had lapsed into a coma. The police claim she had a heart attack, but there were bruises on her body, head, and face. She died three days later, never awaking from her coma. And all this was because she was careless to allow a few strands of hair to show."


Source: Ladies of Hive


Emote Divider Wood Nymph.gif





What do you think about news of this sort?

Honestly, I am apalled to hear news like this. I am pro-law and I think laws are really required for a country to be disciplined. The issue is that some countries enforce these laws either too strictly or too loosely. In my country, discipline is always blamed on the people by not following laws but my counter-statement to that is, "What do law enforcement do if they don't enforce the law?


Emote Divider Wood Nymph.gif





Do you think you could ever live in such a conservative society?

No. It'll scare the living hell out of me. I'm a bit pessimistic and I hate having too strict of a law enforcing body doing that. However, I don't want it too loosely as well.

What if there's a sudden gust of wind and the turban fell or let your hair slip? You're going to be beaten by something caused by nature? I think it's unfair to be punished without being allowed to explain and have proper investigations first.

There's a show in youtube that I watch once in a while called, "Caught in Providence.," which normally involves minor traffic violations. When they beat the red light or parked on the wrong street, they get to dispute that in court. They will be shown a video of their mistake, and have it explained. Some of them get lesser fine and some don't but the fact that you can be heard properly is I think what every city in every country all over the world should have.


Emote Divider Wood Nymph.gif





Would you even consider briefly visiting such a country with such laws?

Honestly, no. If they do this on their own citizens, I can't imagine what they may do to me. If my friends did a prank to me which resulted in what happened above, I think that gov't will blame it on me and I'll be imprisoned for something I didn't do. Constantly thinking what may happen to me every single second stresses me that I may not even step a foot out of the door.


Emote Divider Wood Nymph.gif





How can we assist such women, who cannot afford to flee to a safe place?

Some hive members have some good projects that doesn't even require any single donation from the supporters. Even if you lack money and can't afford to donate even $1 right now (because each of us have different cost of living), what you can do is simply upvote on their posts. That's just one click and would spend you less than 5 seconds to help. Give another 5 seconds and reblog their charity projects and maybe someone with high hive power following you may take notice.

These simple things, when combined, helps a lot of people in the community.


Emote Divider Wood Nymph.gif





Author's Notes 20 sec.gif

For the people, ignorance of the law excuses no one. That is true but as a law enforcement, you should hear why they ignored the law or ignorant of it. A first time visitor of your country cannot be blamed if they don't know certain things about your laws. At the same time, if you're a visitor, brush up a little on the country's norms. You don't need to memorize their whole policies but simply asking your guides what to do and not to do helps a lot.



Emote Divider Wood Nymph.gif





Disclaimer

  • This post is an entry for Ladies of Hive Contest #103.
  • Animated Banners and Dividers are edited in Canva Pro.
  • Cover Photo by [Kat J](https://unsplash.com/@kj2018?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText) on [Unsplash](https://unsplash.com/s/photos/women-violence?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText)
  • Other sources that I do not own are cited under their respective photos. Photos and drawings without cited sources are mine and made for this post.
  • Also, thanks to @melinda010100 for being my invite. I think this is either my 1st or 2nd time joining LOH contest and I'm not familiar with the rules.

If I seem to forget to cite other sources, this would be unintentional. Please leave it on the comments below to be added in the post. Thanks.

If you're interested in playing the game, support me by registering using my referral link here



Outro Footer - ? ? A q u a.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency