Family Responsibilities, Lessons and Challenges - LOH Contest #84

Family is that part of my life that is so dear to me. We've had memorable moments of joy, pain, excitement, celebration shared with my siblings and mum. We've gone through all of that together. Looking back at those years growing up, there are things we laugh and cruise about while I also regret about some moments. In all, the memories are worth having.

image.png

I am the 6th child and second daughter in the family of 7. Being female, many take me to be the last born. Beautifully, mum has been so strong raising all of us alone since we lost Dad when I was quite tender. She's shared most of the hard times with us and that gives all of us (me and siblings ) the consciousness to be considerate in the discharge of our daily responsibilities as well as decisions.

I'll be sharing in this post how my position (in terms of birth) in the family has helped me become, or hindered me from becoming, a successful adult.

1. The Fun and the Petting

It's really fun to be the last child. Everyone cares for you. There's a lot of freebies, candies, ice cream and more. They would barely go out without you. I remember how I'd cry to follow my elder sister who's married during holidays.

image.png

Each time they're out, they'll come home with toys and other goodies for me. A lot of the time, I'd cry at the slightest provocation to call mum's attention. We love love to be petted and I have enjoyed all of that from when I was a toddler till when I started high school.

Even during the university days, I'll send an SOS to all of my elder siblings when there is a need. Some days are party when all of them respond to one need, you're sure your account balance will go green.

image.png

2. The Huge Domestic Work and other challenges

There isn't just the fun to being the last female child. There believe system in our part of the work places a lot of demand on the girl child concerning domestic work. You do a lot of home chores for being the last child in this part of the world.

image.png

Primarily, the kitchen has been my first office even as a non-graduate. I cook virtually everything. I'll always be the last person to sleep each day because you have to wash the dishes and clean up the whole place after the cooking.

Another very demanding work for me I couldn't run from is farm work. While all of my elder siblings had left the house either by marriage or work, I've been the longest serving General at home to respond to the farm demands with mum. You do all of that almost alone as no other person is there to help out.

image.png

Farm work is not fun, but I'm happy I was groomed with the skills and the knowledge. It would serve hugely in my own future home and that's the good part of the story.

image.png

3. The Lessons I've grown with and how it shapes my life into adulthood

All of the experiences I got as a result of my position in the finally as the last female has contributed in the adult I'm growing into. The fun and petting side has taught me love for my siblings and everyone I get to meet. Giving to others has not been a problem and showing empathy when there is need.

On the other hand, the huge work responsibility has so groomed me into becoming a responsible women. With the growing inflation ion Nigeria, getting a housekeep is becoming so cost demanding, hence, having learnt to undertake all possible house chores has equipped me for my future family.

I will also be able to train my children to become responsible too. Truly, we can maximize all the experiences we had in family while growing up to our best advantage whether they were god or hurting.

Being happy is a choice, and I choose it.

image.png

Thank you @ladiesofhive for this privilege to share my experience in this contest. It's been a wonderful part of my life.

To @Jimmyrosy, thank you for inviting me to join. I invite my friends @Peckypeace and @Etorobong to also come share their experiences here.

image.png

I hope you enjoyed the read. Do well to comment, reblog and hit the upvote button.

I am @Kingswill, I am made for the throne.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency