My Holiday Traditions || Ladies of Hive Community Contest #62

png_20211223_171209_0000.png



1️⃣ Do you like to travel during the holidays, or stay close to home?
For either answer, please tell us why!

I always look forward to Christmas holidays with excitement, mostly because I will be off work (phew!) and I will have sufficient time to spend with my family and loved ones.

The proverb 'home is where the heart is' means that wherever my family is, that's where Christmas will take place! The celebration of Christmas is not complete without family and friends. This is the reason I don't envy those who spend the season alone. There is no fun being alone.


img_20211223_170524.jpg


I love traveling but this year, my family is here in Lagos so no traveling! Two years ago, my family was in Abuja (capital of Nigeria) so my siblings and I flew there and had a fun Christmas with the family. Sadly, it's the last time I traveled, no thanks to the covid-19 virus.

1615528867_16681.png

2️⃣ What is your favorite holiday food, and why?

In Nigeria, one of our common Christmas delicacies is fried and/or jollof rice. Hahaha! Does that sound cheesy? I eat rice almost every other day but on Christmas or during festivities, it never gets old.

In my house, we usually cook fried or jollof rice or both and garnish with salad or coleslaw and fried chicken or turkey meat. Yum. It's the best.


img_20211223_170552.jpg


This dish is simple to make and the ladies in the house handle the cooking. So we wake up quite early, like 5am- 6am and start cooking. Soon as the rest of the family smell the sweet aroma of our food, they get up and come out for breakfast!

This is when our celebration begins. Much chattering fills the house with everyone greeting each other "Merry Christmas!", the elderly saying some prayers for the young ones, some men coming to the kitchen to sneak out some meats while we shoo them away.

Then we serve the meal and everyone digs in eating, drinking, laughing and having fun! So rice (fried or jollof) never gets old or tiring for me at festive times. They are my favorite holiday food and it must go with a bottle of red or white wine. Never mind that it's in the morning!

I invite @cescajove to participate. Here is the link. Merry Christmas, everyone! 🎄

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency