How I Treat Myself —A Memorable Massage || Ladies of Hive Community Contest #92

When you have had all you can take and need to relax, how do you treat yourself? Give a description of what that looks like for you, and when was the last time that you treated yourself?

divider curl .webp


Alisa Anton from Unsplash

Refill Your 'Container'

I must admit it's been a while since I treated myself to some TLC and this week's contest takes me down memory lane. Life is short, so why not make the most of it by treating yourself to a good time? No doubt, we go through stress daily depending on our schedule but what is most important is making time to de-stress or unwind so your body and mind can be refreshed.

It's like when you use up the content of a pack or container, it will stay empty unless you refill it back for your use again. The same principle applies to our bodies and minds.

Ways To Unwind

Relaxing or unwinding is akin to taking little breaks. There are many ways I unwind when I need to and this comes usually after I have concluded an official work that proved to be a difficult one or I resolve a matter that had taken some serious toll on my emotions or I have an empty house to myself, lol!

My most preferred way to unwind is to visit a spa, get a facial and a massage. Emphasis on the massage! I don't do this often due to work and time but whenever I book an appointment, I'm elated. After every session, I feel renewed.

Another way I treat myself when I want to celebrate an achievement or success is to go shopping by myself or with a friend or loved one; or have dinner at a Chinese restaurant or some fancy eatery or watch a movie at the cinema or just simply relax with a glass of wine. That's the beauty of life —to enjoy living it!


Artem Podrez from Pexels

That Memorable Massage

I remember a little while ago, I was in Abuja for work and this particular assignment had been a literal pain for me. It was complicated and mentally tasking. I couldn't wait to complete it. A meeting was fixed in the morning for the parties involved to meet.

Before the meeting started, my head was already pounding from anxiety and doubt. It was like my head would split into two. I couldn't stomach any food that morning so I went into the meeting after having only a cup of coffee. I needed to concentrate.

Happily, the assignment was concluded favourably that day sometime in the afternoon. I was relieved. I left the building and found my way to a spa in a nice, big hotel. I was not sure I would be attended to since I did not book an appointment.


Elina Fairytale from Pexels

The masseur made my day when she said she could fit me in. This lady gave me the best Swedish massage I've ever had to date, lol. It was like she knew what I was feeling and worked on my pressure points. Her touch was soothing but firm. She gave my head the attention it deserved and the headache disappeared instantly. After two hours at this spa, I felt lighter, cherished and relaxed.

So whether it's a night at a lovely hotel or weekend at a resort or something as simple as ordering a pizza and watching a movie, give yourself a treat from time to time. You deserve a little downtime in your busy life!

What are the ways you love to treat yourself?

divider curl .webp

This is my entry to the Ladies Of Hive Community Contest #92. I invite @thisismylife and @itsostylish to participate!

Thank you for visiting my blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency