Down Memory Lane To My Childhood Days | Ladies of Hive Community Contest #77


1️⃣ What were your favourite games (or toys) as a child? Tell us about them! Do you still play any of them now?


I'll say childhood was fun; a time when we had no worries. All we did was play, laugh, eat and sleep unlike now that we are adults and saddled with lots of responsibilities!

My playing time as a child was very limited from what I can remember because I did more studying than playing, thanks to my parents! 😄 One particular game I remember playing with girls of my age was playing house.

pexels_photo_4982458.jpeg

We played this game outside with heaps of sand and our dolls as babies. We would mould the shape of houses, place our dolls in them and act as our parents did at home. Like cooking for our dolls, swaddling them, singing lullabies to them etc.

Another game I remember playing was hide n seek and pillow fighting. These games were fun but at the end of the day, some of us may be left in tears because we wanted to win. Haha.

pexels_photo_6182718.jpeg

Sometimes, we end up fighting if one person hit too hard with the pillow or cheated in the hide n seek game. Whenever we fight, my mum would come outside and send me back into the house to pick up my book and study. Oi, 🙄.


2️⃣ What were your favourite foods as a child? Do you still enjoy them now


As a child, I loved to eat and did not have qualms about any food or allergy. Lucky eh? Hehe. I understand that I enjoyed cereals and snacks more. You will admit it's not everything you did as a child that you can remember. Your parents and/or guardians have better memories and can relate to the things you did as a baby.

One day, I was watching an advert for the NASCO brand of cornflakes on TV and my dad told me that the ad brought back memories for him. I asked how? He told me that when I was a toddler, as soon as this advert came up, I would insist on having a bowl of cornflakes with milk, no matter the time of the day. And I would not stop asking until I got it.

photo_1588710920403_dacfbae1a640.jpeg

My mum would bring other foods to distract me but I would refuse them and ask for cornflakes instead. In her efforts to watch my diet, she made it a point to change TV channels whenever I was in the parlour so the advert would not come up often. But no matter how much she tried, NASCO confectionery was bent on selling their business and I was really helping them out by consuming! 😂

Another snack I loved as a child was wafers biscuits made by NASCO. My parents knew this and had the packs bought and stored in the kitchen. When other children favoured other types of biscuits, I would insist on having my wafers.

I smiled at these childhood memories because now that I'm all grown up, I don't care much for these foods.

1615528867_16681.png

This is my entry to the Ladies of Hive Community Contest #77. I invite @dreemsteem to join in on this fun! You can participate by clicking on the link.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Photo by Olia Danilevich from Pexels
Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels
Photo by Engin Akyurt from Unsplash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency