Are Little Dreams Possible? || LOH #154

The clouds are dark and ready to unleash rain on us in my part of the world. I stand by the window as the wind, feeling the cool breeze around me, lost in contemplation (I often do this before I write a post). The second question of the Ladies Of Hive Community Contest #154 came to mind.

2️⃣ What is your big dream for your life? If money were no object and you could do with your time whatever you wished, what would you do with it? What would you create?

IMG_20231003_131519.jpg

divider curl .webp

I heard somewhere (or was it in a movie) that money is everything. How powerful it is! And it's a great determinant of people's big dream(s). But I don't have a "big dream" as this question requests. I have little small dreams that I work at one at a time. Combined, they make my life meaningful.

Right from childhood, I've been brought up to have a BIG dream and it must be related to my passion. In school, we would play games and ask ourselves questions like, "What is your dream?" And fantasised answers always emerged effortlessly, because our young minds believed we could achieve them.

I often feel strange when I tell people I don't have a big dream and stop at that. I should have gone ahead to tell them about my little dreams that I work at every day. A dream mustn't be BIG before we assure ourselves that we are making progress.

As I grew older, I realised that many factors play a vital role in determining whether or not those dreams can be actualised. It's different for each country or environment but one thing central to this debate is money!

So I guess that means, money is everything.

IMG_20231003_131657.jpg

divider curl .webp

If money wasn't an issue and I could do with my time whatever I wanted, I would pursue my true passion — the art of storytelling. How can I tell stories without reading about them?

Since I was a child, I've always loved to tell stories and when I started reading and writing, I began to dream of writing those stories. I would read fascinating stories, and create ones that could astonish the bravest of hearts, with the hope of inspiring them. I would write poems that speak to the heart and soothe the spirit, allowing my words to paint pictures that I couldn't with paint and a canvas

Nothing gladdens a writer's heart more than positive compliments on his works. Much more, I enjoy it when themes of my work are brought up for debate—philosophical debates with bright minds where we would explore the depths of life.

I would let the elements of nature inspire my writing while I draw from my well of life experiences to create stories that are touching yet send messages of hope and wonder.

If money was not an issue, I would travel around the world, to villages and cities, meet people, and explore other lifestyles and cultures to enrich my stories. I won't write from my viewpoint alone but absorb their stories into mine for others to read and learn. I hope it will get to a point where I can also empower other writers and those aspiring to because I was once like them.

These may all sound like fantasies (now that I read this post again, it seems so), but some authors have dreamed and achieved them. And almighty money made it possible. Hehe.

Maybe some day.

What are your dreams, big or small, if money isn't an issue and you have the time?

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Image credit: Ron Lach
Image credit: Anna Shvets

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency