Ladies of Hive Community Contest; #111


source

2️⃣ What is your formula for managing stress and becoming overwhelmed, if you've experienced it, during the holiday season?

There is much that the holiday season comes with. For many, it is that moment to take time off to unwind, relax and have fun with friends and family. That time when there's the chattering of glasses, and hearty laughter over the dinner table or the fireplace. It is the time when the home is alive and voices engulf the walls of the house. It is merriment and getting together while making unforgettable memories.

For some it is that time to sit and reflect, count blessings, indulge in a lot of self-care, make resolutions and just be at peace with one's self.

Other times, the sweet essence of the holiday is lost for a handful of people. Many spend this time planning and preparing for a fest. So much that more of the time is spent planning for a very short-lived euphoria. The moment comes and passes very quickly leaving them with all the strain and residue of the stress incurred.

Sometimes we get so overwhelmed anticipating what is to come that we forget to make out time to stop and smell the flowers. We soon realize that we didn't even get the time to immerse ourselves at the moment. Time then seems fleeting and every other activity feels like work.

I used to get so overwhelmed planning for holidays and events with family. Then I discovered that I wasn't getting the best out of my holidays. I would wind up drained and low at the end of it all. Then I would struggle to get back into my routine. As such, I devised a very simple formula that would serve me. With that formula, I achieved a happier holiday experience.

I asked myself;

“What do I hope to achieve during the holidays?”

Is it rest, fun, self-care, or another rewarding activity? Then I go ahead to plan my time around that activity. For instance, if I need to take a nap at 2 pm, I make sure I finish all of my activities before that time. What I do not do is let my work spill over and tell myself, “ I'll just nap later”. That way, my time would serve me and be centered around everything I want to achieve.

I've learned to tone things down and tell myself, “less is more”. This minimalist approach has helped me to focus on what's important and what's not. It could be saying no to invitations I can't honor, cooking less, or even eating less. The reason is simple for me. If I have to incorporate so many activities during the holidays, I always find it hard to push that reset button and go back to everyday life.

These are the simple formulas that have worked for me so far. Now I enjoy my holidays without having to suffer for them or take a lot from myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency