LOH Contest #85 : My Experience With Criticism | [ English/ Español ]

English

Being a big girl and accepting criticism wholeheartedly hasn't always come easy to me. I've had to learn a lot and unlearn as much to be able to somewhat embrace them without feeling like less of my amazing self. It took a while but I'm making progress, I still have a long way to go though.

png_20220603_063219_0000.png
Made in Canva



The Backstory

My parents were strict while my siblings and I were growing up. Not the controlling your life kinda strict but they scrutinized literally everything we did. We got scolded for little things like accidentally dropping and breaking a glass cup or ceramic plate while doing the dishes so you can imagine how it was when whatever wrong we did wasn't so little.

Sometimes their scoldings came with humiliating criticisms so my adolescent/teenage mind equated criticism to humiliation. Don't get me wrong, I love my parents but there are definitely things I'd change in their parenting handbook.

This whole situation made me overly self-conscious. I thought twice before I spoke and I was very careful not to do anything that'll attract a scolding or any form of criticism from them. I did this so much that it became a default.


Progress Report

As I got older I realized that it was okay to not be perfect and making mistakes every now and then only makes me human. Knowing this helped a lot. I'm still self-conscious but definitely not as much as I was before.

I'm more accepting of criticism now as I've learned to not associate it with humiliation. It still stings when done harshly but I now know not to take it too literally and just get the point of the criticism and see how I can improve that aspect of my life.

Like I said earlier I still have a lot of improving to do but I've also come a long way from where I was before and I'm proud of myself for that.


Lessons I've Learned

The best way to learn how to properly handle criticism is to first be honest with and to yourself. The second is to be open minded that way you can embrace the right things people tell you and you can better yourself with them.

I think I've experienced enough to make me know or sense when someone isn't being honest with their criticism. It's no news that people can do things out of spite or some other negative emotions they feel within themselves and I've learned to blatantly ignore such critique as it wasn't done with the right intentions.

The most effective form of criticism is the calm constructive kind, this comes off more as a suggestion or an opinion than obvious criticism. If done in this way, whoever that's the subject of the criticism is more likely to listen because naturally a wall comes up when one feels threatened or attacked.


Summary

Getting to know yourself thoroughly, both the negatives and positives helps to make sense of how people view you. I think Knowing how people view you helps you deal better with the criticisms they may have about your life and your choices.

If you know who you really are it'll help you navigate life better in terms of the choices you make and the path you choose to follow.

I'm still getting to know myself and the much I've learned so far has made me understand some aspects of my life a little better.



@philomenob come check this out. I really hope you'll be able to participate 😊.



Thanks for your time!❣️

4HFqJv9qRjVecs4xkhd5EvhidWEEBnn9tCVDBkBhQpUFvab78MhbU1VthHk78qiLgPp4nXfaCbGdeBMP9tLGRyfzXY5Z3x6SeveofBGFQ3jjwGsY8CjJ8BEuuX4HdZ27Wwk3hgP5NTdtCj7eY3KNW79tbtnfpQMqqkA.png

Español

Ser una niña grande y aceptar las críticas de todo corazón no siempre ha sido fácil para mí. He tenido que aprender mucho y desaprender mucho para poder abrazarlos de alguna manera sin sentirme menos de mi increíble yo. Me tomó un tiempo, pero estoy progresando, aunque todavía tengo un largo camino por recorrer.

png_20220603_055917_0000.png
Hecho en Canva



La historia de fondo

Mis padres eran estrictos mientras mis hermanos y yo crecíamos. No el control de tu vida es un poco estricto, pero examinaron literalmente todo lo que hicimos. Nos regañaban por pequeñas cosas como dejar caer y romper accidentalmente una taza de vidrio o un plato de cerámica mientras lavaba los platos, así que pueden imaginarse cómo era cuando cualquier mal que hiciéramos no era tan pequeño.

A veces, sus regaños venían con críticas humillantes, por lo que mi mente adolescente equiparaba la crítica con la humillación. No me malinterpreten, amo a mis padres, pero definitivamente hay cosas que cambiaría en su manual de crianza.

Toda esta situación me hizo demasiado cohibido. Pensé dos veces antes de hablar y tuve mucho cuidado de no hacer nada que atrajera un regaño o cualquier forma de crítica de ellos. Hice esto tanto que se convirtió en un valor predeterminado.


Informe de progreso

A medida que crecí me di cuenta de que estaba bien no ser perfecto y cometer errores de vez en cuando solo me hace humano. Saber esto ayudó mucho. Todavía soy consciente de mí mismo, pero definitivamente no tanto como lo era antes.

Ahora acepto más las críticas porque he aprendido a no asociarlas con la humillación. Todavía duele cuando se hace con dureza, pero ahora sé que no debo tomarlo demasiado literalmente y simplemente captar el punto de la crítica y ver cómo puedo mejorar ese aspecto de mi vida.

Como dije antes, todavía tengo mucho que mejorar, pero también he recorrido un largo camino desde donde estaba antes y estoy orgulloso de mí mismo por eso.


Lecciones que he aprendido

La mejor manera de aprender a manejar adecuadamente las críticas es primero ser honesto contigo mismo. El segundo es tener la mente abierta de esa manera puedes abrazar las cosas correctas que la gente te dice y puedes mejorar con ellas.

Creo que he experimentado lo suficiente como para hacerme saber o sentir cuando alguien no está siendo honesto con sus críticas. No es noticia que las personas puedan hacer cosas por despecho o por otras emociones negativas que sienten dentro de sí mismas y he aprendido a ignorar descaradamente tales críticas, ya que no se hicieron con las intenciones correctas.

La forma más efectiva de crítica es la constructiva tranquila, que se presenta más como una sugerencia u opinión que como una crítica obvia. Si se hace de esta manera, quienquiera que sea el sujeto de la crítica es más probable que escuche porque, naturalmente, surge un muro cuando uno se siente amenazado o atacado.


Resumen

Conocerse a sí mismo a fondo, tanto los aspectos negativos como los positivos, ayuda a dar sentido a cómo la gente lo ve. Creo que saber cómo te ve la gente te ayuda a lidiar mejor con las críticas que puedan tener sobre tu vida y tus elecciones.

Si sabes quién eres realmente, te ayudará a navegar mejor por la vida en términos de las elecciones que hagas y el camino que elijas seguir.

Todavía me estoy conociendo a mí mismo y lo mucho que he aprendido hasta ahora me ha hecho entender un poco mejor algunos aspectos de mi vida.



Gracias por tu tiempo!❣️

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZLDnKeQSB4iuSyfok9b9VHNwKSpMp2fyBoX5mXogWPDgrBdPcc6Fw4XB8ZZ2Gb3htQ1YXA2PFgxgYspTVDW5ZRPEBa7oyhq27AkQKNM39N6VD9PfaqPrVtoX.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency