The Last Time I Tried Something New...

gg.png

When I read this question on the latest @LadiesofHive writing challenge, I was stumped.

1️⃣ When was the last time you tried something new? Did it change you?

When?! When?! Aiks!!! Have I not tried anything new in forever?!!! Have I been stuck in familiar and comfortable enough for such a long time?!!

Sure, I have tried more of some things because of the lockdowns, more cooking just started brushing up on sewing, but nothing so left field that it took me out of my comfort zone. These are all things I already do, it is now just nudging the boundaries a little.

So, I backed up even more and finally stopped on something I had done about 4 years back when we had gone to visit family in Singapore.

The Hubs' cousin wanted to treat the kids to an adventure and had bought some tickets to an Extreme Park. While the kids did their thing, we adults were supposed to just hang out, sip coffee and chat. But we were all told to bring our shoes and I had mine in the car anyways.

But as soon as we got there, my name was thrown in the mix. You gotta try it, The Cousin said. I'm not fit, I am afraid of heights, I can't - I had so many excuses. I even tried bluffing that I didn't bring my shoes but after much coaxing, I said ok.

The Tree Top Course is used for Team Building and through the challenges, teams learn to lean in and help out to make it together to the end. It was tough and we had to be briefed and prepped. There were rescue personal all-around in the event any one of us got stuck, or got scared and froze (which happened with one of the kids!).

Long story short, I managed to pull through and gradually worked my way up into the most difficult course. There were some obstacles that were a real challenge, my core wasn't strong enough and it took all my strength and guts to get through but I made it. And at the end of it, I would have done it all over again.

I realised the overthinking, can really blow up your unfound fears and make them larger than life. There was also so much self-doubt, and I was beyond scared. Even though it was tough, it was a lot of fun and I learnt to let go - literally. And once I did, the monster in my head was way larger than the real thing. Does this mean I am ready for a bungee jump… hahaha no!! But who knows right?

I did make a video if you want to check out some of the challenges. And if you would like to take part in the writing challenge, click on THIS for more.

Thank you for reading,
Sh33la

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency